2013 State 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl Winners Announced

ARLINGTON, Iowa – Fayette County’s senior Dairy Quiz Bowl team, the Schnappin’ Schmallies, placed first in the annual 4-H Youth Dairy Quiz Bowl June 6 at the Starmont High School in Arlington. The team will represent Iowa 4-H at the National 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl in Louisville, Ky., in November.

The event provides some experience for the up-and-coming youth to demonstrate their knowledge about the dairy industry, said Mike Anderson, 4-H agriculture program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach.

The winning senior division team included Dayle Lantzky, Katie Stewart, Molly Schmitt, Mary Scott and Kelli Steinlage.

The second place senior team was Delaware County’s Senior Team, including Nicole Engelken, James Goldsmith, Matthew Lansing and Mindy Burkle.

Each year, the Fayette County 4-H Dairy Club presents a traveling trophy to each division winner in honor and memory of Connie Stewart and her daughter Sarah Stewart.

The winning intermediate division team was Delaware County Team 1. Team members were Nick Bagge, Katelyn Goldsmith, Kaleb Kruse and Amanda Engelken.

The second place intermediate team was from Fayette County. The Downer Cows team included Nathan Arthur, Cynthia Hamlett, Braeden Baumler, Sally Hamlett, Ashley Brumier and Natalie Eick.

Taking top honors in the junior division was the Dubuque County team Sparkly Milking Unicorns. Members included Logan Wingert, Regan Demmer, Trenton Hammeland, Amanda Dougherty and Rachel Brehm.

The second place team in the junior division was from Delaware County. Delaware Junior Team 1 members were Amber Engelken, Lauren Goldsmith and Tehya Demmer.

The scores of a written exam, team questions and toss-up competition combined to determine the winners of each match in this double elimination event. The Iowa 4-H Foundation Dairy Endowment provided various awards for the event and will provide funding for the senior team’s trip to Louisville.

Forty-five youth participated in the quiz bowl: 9 seniors, 18 intermediates, and 18 juniors.

Other Placings

Intermediate third place was awarded to 50 Sows and Bucks from Dubuque County, with Jacqueline Ehrlich, Adam Simon, Alyssa Dougherty, and Theresa Brehm.

Junior third place was awarded to Krazy Kool Cows from Fayette County, with Brylie Volker, Ben Scott, Vanessa Hamlett and Henry Hamlett.

Senior Test Results

  1. Molly Schmitt, Fayette County
  2. Mary Scott, Fayette County
  3. Kelli Steinlage, Fayette County

Intermediate Test Results

  1. Nathan Arthur, Fayette County
  2. Amanda Engelken and Kaitlyn Goldsmith, Delaware County
  3. Theresa Brehm, Dubuque County

Junior Test Results

  1. Trenton Hammeland and Amanda Dougherty, Dubuque County
  2. Rachel Brehm, Dubuque County
  3. Brylie Volker, Fayette County