Extension News

Iowa State University Extension a Key Partner in Advancing Economic Development across Iowa


AMES, Iowa -- Throughout Iowa, Iowa State University Extension supports economic growth and works to improve quality of life by encouraging business development, helping to create jobs and expanding entrepreneurial activity, according to Jack Payne, vice president for extension and outreach.

Extension's participation in more than 300 projects throughout the state is described in a new report prepared for the Iowa General Assembly that highlights a sampling of major projects and in a Web site that lists projects in every county in the state.

Additional information is available on each of these projects from the contact persons listed on the Web site, and from the regional extension education directors in each of Iowa's 20 extension regions.

“In these trying economic times, improving the quality of life in Iowa continues to be at the heart of ISU Extension’s work,” Payne said. “We continue to team up with individuals and agencies across the state to provide meaningful learning opportunities with science-based research.”

Highlighted projects are listed by county in news releases that were distributed in each region, linked below.

Region 1, Clay, Dickinson, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola and Sioux Counties

Region 2, Emmet, Hancock, Kossuth, Palo Alto and Winnebago Counties

Region 3, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Mitchell and Worth Counties

Region 4, Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek Counties

Region 5, Monona, Plymouth and Woodbury Counties

Region 6, Buena Vista, Calhoun, Cherokee, Ida, Pocahontas and Sac Counties

Region 7, Hamilton, Humboldt, Webster and Wright Counties

Region 8, Boone, Hardin, Marshall and Story Counties

Region 9, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Grundy and Tama Counties

Region 10, Benton, Jones and Linn Counties

Region 11, Delaware, Dubuque and Jackson Counties

Region 12, Audubon, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie and Shelby Counties

Region 13, Dallas, Polk and Warren Counties

Region 14, Jasper, Mahaska, Marion and Poweshiek Counties

Region 15, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk and Washington Counties

Region 16, Cedar, Clinton, Muscatine and Scott Counties

Region 17, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page, and East and West Pottawattamie Counties

Region 18, Adair, Adams, Cass, Clarke, Decatur, Madison, Ringgold, Union and Taylor Counties

Region 19, Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Lucas, Monroe, Van Buren, Wapello and Wayne Counties

Region 20, Des Moines, Henry, Lee and Louisa Counties


Contacts :

Jack Payne, ISU Extension and Outreach, (515) 294-4603, jpayne@iastate.edu

Jacy Johnson, Extension Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-5672, jacyjohn@iastate.edu