Extension News

ISU Extension Offers 2009 Ag Chemical Dealer Updates

10/15/2009

AMES, Iowa -- Updates on the latest crop production products and recommendations are the featured topics of the 2009 Ag Chemical Dealer Update Series. Sponsored by Iowa State University Extension, this series will be held Nov. 24 to Dec. 16 at eight locations around Iowa.

“These meetings are a chance for ag input dealers to meet with extension specialists to review current research, discuss new products and learn of new recommendations,” said Brent Pringnitz, coordinator of the Agribusiness Education Program.

Each location will feature presentations on weed, insect and crop disease management as well as soil nutrient management. Each meeting is approved for Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) credits. In addition, the meetings offer recertification for Iowa Commercial Pesticide Applicators in categories 1A, 1B, 1C and 10.

For more information about a particular program, contact the host listed below. Online registration materials and additional information about the meetings are available at www.aep.iastate.edu. An early registration discount is offered to participants who sign up a week or more before the program date.

Program dates, locations and facilitators are as follows:

Nov. 24 -  Waterloo, George Cummins, (641) 228-1453, gcumns@iastate.edu

Nov. 24 - Calmar, Brian Lang, (563) 382-2949, bjlang@iastate.edu

Dec. 7 - Lewis, Kyle Jensen, (712) 769-2600, jensenkg@iastate.edu

Dec. 8 -  Mason City, George Cummins, (641) 228-1453,  gcumns@iastate.edu

Dec. 9 - Storm Lake, Paul Kassel,  (712) 262-2264, kassel@iastate.edu, and  Mark Licht, (712) 792-2364, lichtma@iastate.edu

Dec. 10 -  Creston,  Aaron Saeugling,  (641) 782-8426, clonz5@iastate.edu, and Mark Carlton, (641) 932-5612, mcarltn@iastate.edu

Dec. 14 -  Iowa City, Jim Fawcett, (319) 337-2145,  fawcett@iastate.edu, and Virgil Schmitt, (563) 263-5701,  vschmitt@iastate.edu

Dec. 16 -  Ames, John Holmes, (515) 532-3453, jdholmes@iastate.edu, and Mark Wuebker, (515) 957-5778, mwuebker@iastate.edu

-30-

Contacts :

Brent Pringnitz, Agribusiness Education Program, (515) 294-6429, bpring@iastate.edu

Del Marks, Extension Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu