Extension News

Series of Free PQAPlusTM and TQA Certification Sessions Begin Aug. 26

7/28/2009

AMES, Iowa -- The Iowa Pork Industry Center (IPIC), Iowa State University Extension and Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA) have teamed up to provide a series of free training sessions for pork producers and others who need certification in the Pork Quality Assurance Plus™ (PQAPlus™) and Transport Quality Assurance (TQA) programs.

IPIC director John Mabry said the timing of this series, with sessions scheduled between Aug. 26 and Sept. 22 in various Iowa locations, is ideal. And, with IPPA’s sponsorship, there is no charge to attend. Ordinarily, the fee is about $25 per person for each session.

“We appreciate the sponsorship of IPPA in helping provide and promote these certification programs in late summer,” Mabry said. “This is a good time for anyone who needs certification in either or both programs to get that accomplished at no charge.”

Tyler Bettin, IPPA producer education director, urges people to plan to attend a session closest to them.

“We are fortunate to have the cooperation of our ISU Extension swine field specialists to conduct these sessions,” he said. “And we want to give producers every opportunity to complete these sessions prior to the harvest season.”

Preregistration is strongly encouraged for all sessions to ensure adequate materials are available. Contact the ISU Extension swine field specialist listed to preregister at the desired location.

The following PQAPlus™ and TQA sessions are part of the IPPA-sponsored series.

Aug. 26. Hancock County Extension Office, 327 West 8th St., Garner. PQAPlus™ 9:45 a.m. to noon;  TQA 1 to 3:30 p.m. Contact Russ Euken, (641) 923-2856 or reuken@iastate.edu

Aug. 27. Story County Extension office, 220 H Ave., Nevada.  PQAPlus™ 9:45 a.m. to noon; TQA 1 to 3:30 p.m. Contact Terry Steinhart, (800) 515-2680 or tsteinha@iastate.edu

Aug. 27. Butler County Extension Office, 320 N. Main St., Allison. PQAPlus™ 9:45 a.m. to noon; TQA 1 to 3:30 p.m. Contact  Mark Storlie, (319) 267-2707 or mstorlie@iastate.edu

Sept. 9. Northwest Iowa Community College, Bldg. A, Room 118, Sheldon. TQA 10 a.m. to noon; PQAPlus™ 1 to 3 p.m. Contact  Dave Stender, (712) 225-6196 or dstender@iastate.edu

Sept. 15. Jones County Extension office, 605 East Main St., Anamosa. PQAPlus™ 7 to 9 p.m. Contact Larry McMullen, (319) 462-2791 or lkmcmull@iastate.edu

Sept. 15.  Washington County Extension office, 2223 250th St., Washington. PQAPlus™ 7 to 9 p.m. Contact Tom Miller, (319) 653-4811 or tmiller@iastate.edu

Sept. 22. Sac County Extension Office, 620 Park Ave, Sac City. PQAPlus™ 10 a.m. to noon, TQA 1 to 3 p.m. Contact Jerry Weiss, (712) 335-3103 or weissj@iastate.edu

To learn more about PQAPlus™, see the National Pork Board Web site at http://www.pork.org/Producers/PQAP.aspx?c=About


-30-

Contacts :
John Mabry, Iowa Pork Industry Center, (515) 294-6325, jmabry@iastate.edu
Tyler Bettin, Iowa Pork Producers Association, (800) 372-7675, tbettin@iowapork.org
Sherry Hoyer, Iowa Pork Industry Center, (515) 294-4496, shoyer@iastate.edu