Extension News

Iowa Muncipal Officials Complete Advanced City Administration Training


___(Name)___, ___(Town)___ (see list below)  has completed courses at the Iowa Municipal Professionals Institute that lead to professional certification at either the state level or through the International Institute of Municipal Clerks. The five-day Municipal Professionals Institute was conducted by Iowa State University Extension during the week of July 20-24 in Ames.

Paul Coates, ISU Extension state and local government specialist who directs the program, said topics for the session included dealing with controversy, group dynamics and team building and intergovernmental relations.

The program is sponsored by the ISU Extension Office of State and Local Government Programs in conjunction with the Iowa Municipal Finance Officers Association. Instructors include ISU faculty, extension staff, bonding attorneys, accounting experts and city clerks who have completed the Institute. The Iowa State University program was one of the first offered in the United States, and is among the largest of 44 similar programs offered in other states and Canadian provinces.

Many participants in these courses have completed the educational requirements for certification through either the state certification program offered by the Iowa Municipal Finance Officers Association and or the certification offered by the International Institute of Municipal Clerks, which represents clerks throughout the United States, Canada and a number of foreign countries. Other participants will have the opportunity to attend again next July to complete their courses leading to certification.


Participants in the July training included the following:

Alton: Dale Oltmans

Anita: Lindsay Jahde

Boone: Ondrea Elmquist

Brighton: Tonia Crossett

Cascade: Shelley Annis

Clear Lake: Jennifer Larsen

Clinton: Pat Van Zoo

Colfax: Brenda Harmison

Council Bluffs: Marcia Warden

Creston: Lisa Williamson

DeSoto: Marcia Thomas

Dunkerton: Brenda Thompson

Durant: Deana Cavin

Dyersville: Lori Panton

Earlham: Linette Crouch

Fort Dodge: Michelle Hefley

George: Laurie Koerselman

Gilbert: Susan Gens

Glenwood: Judith Groves

Goose Lake: Teresa Lindstrom

Humboldt: Sierra Skow

Huxley: Lisa Wheeler

Kelley: Jodi Meredith

Lamoni: Judy Harris and Barb Stuck

Larchwood: Sandi DeSmet

Lehigh: Wanda Ganeff

Long Grove: Susan Lensch Mahannah

Magnolia: SusanneVokt

Malvern: Shari Mueller

Manly: Anne Marie Stumo

Marion: Wesley Nelson

Massena: Heather Schwartz

McCallsburg: Sonia Dodd

Melbourne: Deb Mercer and Cookie Purdy

Moville: Mishelle Powell

Oakland: Marissa Lockwood

Oelwein: Barb Rigdon

Ogden: Kimberly Claypool

Panora: Joyce Calmer

Plainfield: Brittney Lentz

Pomeroy: Sarah Burke

Rolfe: Angela Schneider

Sanborn: Becki Hurtig

Schleswig: Jane Smith

Sergeant Bluff: Renee Fangman

Sibley: Kris Vipond

Spirit Lake: Janet Hasche

Stanwood: Vicki Bendixen

Strawberry Point: Deanna Dement

Wahpeton: Bonnie Roberts

Wall Lake: Marlene Anderson

West Branch: Debra Fiderlein

West Point: Diane Smith

Winfield: Savannah Finnell


Contacts :

Paul Coates, Community and Regional Planning, (515) 294-1844, paulc@iastate.edu

or municipal clerk listed at the end of this news release

Del Marks, Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu