Extension News

Training for City Officials Offers Professional Certification


___(Name)___, ___(Town)___, (see list below) recently completed the initial courses as part of a curriculum at the Iowa Municipal Professionals Institute that leads to professional certification at the state level or through the International Institute of Municipal Clerks. The five-day Municipal Professionals Institute was conducted by Iowa State University Extension Office of State and Local Government Programs during the week of July 13-17 in Ames.

Paul Coates, ISU Extension state and local government specialist who directs the program, said training topics covered a variety of issues facing city clerks. The session focused on an overview of the municipal financial system, parliamentary procedures, minutes and written communication as well as the preparation of resolutions and ordinances.

The program is sponsored by the ISU Extension Office of State and Local Government Programs in conjunction with the Iowa Municipal Finance Officers Association. Instructors include ISU faculty, extension staff, state officials, accounting experts and city clerks who have completed the Institute. The Iowa program is in its 33rd year and remains among the largest of 44 similar programs offered in other states and Canadian provinces.

Participants in these courses will have the opportunity to attend next July to continue completing courses toward certification.


Participants in the training included the following:

Allison: Chris Graser
Atlantic: Deirdre Derby
Buffalo: Kim Kaufman
Buffalo: Tanna Carter
Corning: Iona M. Allen
Correctionville: Susan Fitch
Dallas Center: Cindy Riesselman
Dundee: Mildred Allen
Dunkerton: Brenda Thompson
Durant: Deana Cavin
Elma: Gayla Albrecht
Everly: Kate Rice
Fort Dodge: Dawn Siebken
Gilbert: Susan Gens
Glenwood: Judith Groves
Hamburg: Sheryl Owen
Hopkinton: Amy Ries
Hudson: Colleen Damon
Huxley: Jolene Lettow
Inwood: Jennifer Mouw
Jefferson: Melinda Hinners
Kelley: Jodi Meredith
Knoxville: Heather Ussery
Lamoni Judy Harris and Barb Stuck
Lisbon: Marsha McWhinney
Long Grove: Jackie Wilcox
Manning: Dawn Rohe
Manly: Anne-Marie Stumo Kinnin
Marathon: Denine Garton
Mount Ayr: Pamella Poore
New Market: Michael Fisher
New Sharon: Diane Brand
Orient: Julia Frederick
Otho: Glenda R. Rasmussen
Pierson: Jeanette Beekman
Remsen: Paige List
Rockwell City: Kelly Smidt
Runnells: Carol Elam
Ruthven: Kay Suhr
Sabula: Ronda James
Sergeant Bluff: Kari Berge
Silver City: Cheryl Evans:
Slater: Mary Beth Chinery
Spirit Lake: Janet Hasche
St. Charles: Joan F. Naylor
Truro: Heidi Burhans
Union: Ann Bracy
Villisca: Rachel Lowry
Wapello: Cindy Bockes
Webster City: Justin Moore and Vicki Smith
West Liberty: Mayra Salazar
West Okoboji: Edward Rice
Williams: Cherie Ferguson

Contacts :
Paul Coates, Community and Regional Planning, (515) 294-1844, paulc@iastate.edu

or municipal clerk listed at the end of this news release

Del Marks, Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu