Extension News

Area Resident Takes Part in Municipal Professionals Academy


___(Name)___, ___(Town)___, (see list below) attended the Municipal Professionals Academy recently at Iowa State University. The three-day Academy for Iowa's city clerks, finance officers and other administrators was conducted by ISU Extension's Office of State and Local Government Programs July 22-24 in Ames.

Advanced topics offered in this session included learning to work and survive in an uncertain economic environment, handling conflict, making governments more lean for a changing environment, building green communities, preparing for the 2010 census, employment law issues, working to encourage a healthy community, retooling after natural disasters, expanding city income through effective grant writing and building effective council-staff relationships.

The program is sponsored by the Office of State and Local Government Programs in conjunction with the Iowa Municipal Finance Officers Association. Instructors include ISU faculty, extension staff, state and federal agency officials, consultants, attorneys, staff from the Iowa League of Cities and city clerks. By attending the academy, participants increase their knowledge and skills to better serve the citizens of their communities and they get credit toward maintaining their professional certifications, according to Paul Coates, director of the Academy and the Office of State and Local Government Programs.


Participants in the July training included the following:

Alburnett: Amber Franklin

Arlington: Mary Jo Brown

Atkins: Dick Lange

Aurelia: Cindy Kai

Badger: Nadine Odor

Beaman: LaVonne Sternhagen

Belle Plaine: Kaye Buch

Blue Grass: Ann Schmidt

Bussey: Rachel Reed

Carson: Brianne Duede

Centerville: Kris May

Chariton: Ruth Ryun

Clarence: Deb Minar

Clarion: Vicki Boyington, Shelley Pohlman and Darcy Robb

Clermont: Susan Niedert

Colfax: Kathy Mathews

Conrad: Denise Hoy

Dakota City: Angelique Berry

Denison: Marcia Bretey and Jodie Hast

DeWitt: Deanna Rodriguez

Dexter: Denise Miller

Duncombe: Peg Royster

Earlville: Linda Gaul

Edgewood: Cindy Vorwald

Eldora: Joyce Lawler

Fenton: Susan Potratz

Galva: Anita Brandt

Garnavillo: Denise Schneider

Gilmore City: Virginia Wright

Grand Mound: Marilyn Galloway

Grand River: Doris Loy

Harpers Ferry: Leah Benzig

Hartley: Brian Pals

Hazleton: Lynne Draper

Hiawatha: Kim Downs, Cindy Kudrna and Deb Larson

Holstein: Marlo Schoer

Hubbard: Cheryl Pickering

Huxley: Lee Vogt

Jesup: LeAnn Even and Linda Michael

Jewell: Karen Culpepper

Kensett: Lori McNally

Lacona: Doris Loy

Lake Park: Vernette Palmer

Leon: Angela Blades

Lisbon: Tawnia Kakacek

Logan: Nedra Fliehe and Angela Winther

Marcus: Bev Alesch

Marengo: Barb Barrick

Marion: Beth Little

Marshalltown: Shari Coughenour

Mechanicsville: Linda Coppess

Missouri Valley: Rita Miller

Monroe: Kim Thomas

Morning Sun: Holly Fletcher

Newell: Melinda Buchholz

Northwood: Donna Tyrrell

Otho: Glenda R. Rasmussen

Palo: Stacy Dix, Michelle Nejdl and Trisca Smetzer

Patterson: Doris Loy

Paullina: Sandy Fritz

Pleasant Hill: Angela Betts and Joni Haag

Polk City: Sharon Nickles

Redfield: Deb Light

Riverdale: Paula McIntosh

Sageville: Mary Habel

Sheldon: Arlene Budden

Shellsburg: Nancy Deklotz

Spencer: Donna Fisher

Stout: Celane Hauser

Sully: Barbra Maasdam

Toledo: Carolyn Brownfield

Treynor: Kathy Temeyer

Underwood: Kelly Groskurth

Vail: Kathy Ruch

Wadena: Gloria Aylsworth

Walford: Janet Gann

Wapello: Celia Drayfahl

West Burlington: Kelly Fry and Leslie Sattler

West Des Moines: Fern Stewart

Wilton: Janet Boorn

Woodward: Christina Perkins

Worthington: Mary Habel

Contacts :

Paul Coates, Community and Regional Planning, (515) 294-1844, paulc@iastate.edu

or municipal clerk listed at the end of this news release

Del Marks, Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu