Extension News

ISU Extension Offers 2008 Ag Chemical Dealer Updates

10/15/2008

Updates on the latest crop production products and recommendations are the featured topics of the 2008 Ag Chemical Dealer Update Series. Sponsored by Iowa State University Extension, this series will be held Dec. 1 to 18 at eight locations around Iowa.

“These meetings are a chance for ag input dealers to meet with ISU Extension specialists to review current research, discuss new products, and learn of new recommendations,” said Brent Pringnitz, coordinator, Agribusiness Education Program.

Each location will feature presentations on weed, insect and crop disease management as well as soil nutrient management. Each meeting is approved for Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) credits. In addition, the meetings offer recertification for Iowa Commercial Pesticide Applicators in categories 1A, 1B, 1C and 10.

For more information about a particular program, contact the host listed below. Registration materials and additional information about the meetings is available at www.aep.iastate.edu.

Dec. 1, Iowa City, Jim Fawcett, (319) 337-2145, fawcett@iastate.edu, or Virgil Schmitt, (563) 263-5701, vschmitt@iastate.edu
Dec. 2, Waterloo, George Cummins, (641) 228-1453, gcumns@iastate.edu
Dec. 2, Calmar, Brian Lang, (563) 382-2949, bjlang@iastate.edu
Dec. 3, Mason City, George Cummins, (641) 228-1453, gcumns@iastate.edu
Dec. 15, Lewis, Kyle Jensen, (712) 769-2600, jensenkg@iastate.edu
Dec. 16, Storm Lake, Paul Kassel, (712) 262-2264, kassel@iastate.edu. or Mark Licht, (712) 792-2364, lichtma@iastate.edu
Dec. 17, Ames, John Holmes, (515) 532-3453, jdholmes@iastate.edu, or Mark Wuebker, (515) 957-5778, mwuebker@iastate.edu
Dec. 18, Creston, Aaron Saeugling, (641) 782-8426, clonz5@iastate.edu, or Mark Carlton, (641) 932-5612, mcarltn@iastate.edu

-30-

Contacts :

Brent Pringnitz, Agribusiness Education Program, (515) 294-6429, bpring@iastate.edu 

Del Marks, Extension Communications, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu