Extension News

ISU Extension Audio: Interviews for the Week of May 12

Note to media editors: You may use Extension Audio Interviews as source material for stories you develop, you may link to the interviews on your Web site or you may broadcast the interviews in your programs.

5/12/2008

AMES, Iowa -- Audio of the following Iowa State University Extension interviews is available for download (week of May 12). For more information, contact Doug Cooper, ISU Extension audio producer, levachek@iastate.edu.

Elmore and Taylor on planting progress -- ISU Extension corn agronomist Roger Elmore and ISU Extension climatologist Elwynn Taylor look at the latest USDA planting progress report issued Monday, May 5, 2008. Only 18 percent of the corn has been planted in Iowa as of May 4.

John Lawrence on grain costs -- ISU Extension economist John Lawrence is also the director of the Iowa Beef Center and he says high grain costs are adding to losses for both cattle and hog producers.

Robert Burns on mitigating air emissions -- The Mitigating Air Emissions from Animal Feeding Operations conference is May 19–21 in Des Moines. ISU Extension agriculture and biosystems engineer Robert Burns says the program is aimed at ISU Extension personnel as well as consultants who work with producers on reducing livestock odors.

Liesl Eathington on Iowa’s racial and ethnic makeup -- Liesl Eathington, ISU coordinator of RECAP (Regional Capacity Analysis Program), says Hispanics are the largest minority in Iowa.

Donald Lewis on grubs -- White grubs are tasty meals for raccoons and skunks. ISU Extension entomologist Donald Lewis says the downside is the animals tear up our landscape to get to the “tasty” grubs.

Nick Howell on spring weather and the research farm -- The horticulture research farm is located just north of Ames and superintendant Nick Howell says the spring weather has been a problem for them just as it has been for many of Iowa’s farmers.

For the gardener -- Tulips, spring flowering shrubs and wildflowers

SafeFarm report with Chuck Schwab – All terrain vehicle safety

Conservation minute with John Lundvall -- Grass waterways

Garden calendar minute with Cindy Haynes -- Have patience before planting

It’s time to … with Rich Pope -- Rotary hoe

-30-

Contacts :

Roger Elmore, Agronomy, (515) 294-6655, relmore@iastate.edu

Elwynn Taylor, Agronomy, (515) 294-7839, setaylor@iastate.edu

John Lawrence, Economics, (515) 294-6290, jdlaw@iastate.edu

Robert Burns, Ag and Biosystems Engineering, (515) 294-8891, rburns@iastate.edu

Donald Lewis, Entomology, (515) 294-1101, drlewis@iastate.edu

Douglas Cooper  Extension Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-6275, levachek@iastate.edu

Liesl Eathington, Economics, (515) 294-2954, leathing@iastate.edu

Nick Howell, Iowa State Research Farms, (515) 232-4786, nhowell@iastate.edu

Chuck Schwab, Ag & Biosystems Engineering, (515) 294-4131, cvschwab@iastate.edu

John Lundvall, Agronomy, (515) 294-5429, jlundval@iastate.edu

Cynthia Haynes, Horticulture, (515) 294-4006, chaynes@iastate.edu

Richard Pope, Entomology, (515) 294-5899, ropope@iastate.edu