Extension News

4-H State Volunteer Retreat Planning Committee to Receive Award


AMES, Iowa -- The Iowa 4-H Volunteer Retreat planning committee will receive an award and recognition for its outstanding service to the state’s 4-H volunteers. The group will be recognized at the Governor’s 25th Annual Volunteer Awards ceremony.

The event, to be presided over by Gov. Chet Culver, will take place on Monday, June 30, 1:30 p.m. at the Southeast Polk High School Auditorium, 8325 NE University Avenue in Pleasant Hill. 

“The State 4-H Volunteer Retreat Planning Committee annually plans, implements and evaluates a retreat that brings 4-H volunteers, members, parents and staff together to network and learn about innovative programs that bring fresh perspectives and activities to Iowa 4-H programs,” said Chris Gleason,  program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension 4-H Youth Development. “The 4-H volunteers who serve on the committee are dedicated to strengthening the 4-H program and providing positive youth development experiences to a broad audience.”

As a testament to their dedication, some of the members have been serving on the committee since the 1980s.

“The State 4-H Volunteers Retreat gives Iowa 4-H volunteers what we need to be more than just any group of volunteers, but the best volunteers,” said Diana Cox, 4-H volunteer and member of the planning committee.  “Networking and learning from others helps us all appreciate the value of volunteering. I hope that our enthusiasm for 4-H and the club members we work with will spread to more people.” 

Iowa consistently ranks in the top 10 states in the nation for the percentage of adults engaged in volunteering. Recent studies show that volunteers in Iowa collectively contribute 99 million hours of service and have an economic impact of more than $1.78 billion annually.

“All volunteers are helping to build one Iowa by freely giving their time and talents to serve the public good,” said Gov. Culver.  “Lieutenant Governor Judge and I are honored to have this opportunity to personally thank this year’s award recipients for donating their time in countless ways to improve communities across the state.  We look forward to continuing our work with these dedicated Iowans so that together, we can build an unlimited future for all.”

Members of the 4-H State Volunteer Retreat planning committee are Lynn Arterburn, Ankeny; Marcia Bear, Bloomfield; Diana Cox, Iowa City; Geneva Harrison, Knoxville; Jeff Harrison, Knoxville; AuRae Heidemann, Denver; Karla Jordan, Monroe; Kris Keene, Hartley; Barbara Oldham, Eddyville; Pam Vander Molen, Sully; Ruth Wagner, Ankeny; and Jeremy Weiss, Ames.


Contacts :

Chris Gleason, ISU Extension 4-H Youth Development, (515) 294-1557, cgleason@iastate.edu

David Neff, Extension Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-9915, dneff@iastate.edu

Laura Sternweis, Extension Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-0775, lsternwe@iastate.edu