Extension News

Area Resident Takes Part in the Municipal Professionals Academy

Note to media editors: A list of participants, alphabetical by community name, is at the end of this story.


___(Name)___, ___(Town)___, attended the Municipal Professionals Academy recently at Iowa State University. The three-day Academy was conducted by ISU Extension’s Office of State and Local Government Programs July 23-25 in Ames.

Advanced topics offered in this session included staying sane at work and connected at home, electronic record keeping, building a sense of community with citizens using technology, TIF issues, working with the press and updates on IPERS.


The program is sponsored by the Office of State and Local Government Programs in conjunction with the Iowa Municipal Finance Officers Association. Instructors include ISU faculty, ISU Extension staff, state agency officials, consultants, attorneys, staff from the Iowa League of Cities and city clerks. By attending the academy, participants increase their knowledge and skills to better serve the citizens of their communities and they get credit toward maintaining their professional certifications, according to Paul Coates, director of the Academy and the Office of State and Local Government Programs.




Participants in the July training included the following:


Alburnett: Amber Franklin

Ames: Diane Voss

Anthon: Ruth Groth

Arlington: Mary Jo Brown

Atkins: Dick Lange

Auburn: Nancy Janssen

Aurelia: Cindy Kai

Badger: Nadine Odor

Bancroft: Vickie Rahe

Belle Plaine: Kaye Buch

Blue Grass: Ann Schmidt

Brighton: Linda Burger

Bussey: Rachel Reed

Carroll: Laura Schaefer

Carson: Brianne Duede

Centerville: Kris May

Chariton: Ruth Ryun

Clarence: Deb Minar

Clarion: Vicky Boyington, Rochelle Pohlman and Darcy Robb

Colfax: Kathy Mathews

Correctionville: Carla Mathers

Davenport: Jackie Holecek

DeWitt: Deanna Rodriguez

Dexter: Denise Miller

Dyersville: Tricia L. Maiers

Earlville: Linda Gaul

Edgewood: Cindy Vorwald

Eldora: Joyce Lawler

Galva: Anita Brandt

George: Bernette Weier

Grand Mound: Marilyn Galloway

Grand River: Doris Loy

Grinnell: Sheila Diehm

Harpers Ferry: Leah Benzing

Hazleton: Lynne Crandall

Hedrick: Ann Spilman

Hiawatha: Kim Downs

Holstein: Marlo Schoh

Hubbard: Cheryl Pickering

Huxley: Lee Vogt

Indianola: Jennifer Sease

Jewell: Karen Culpepper

Kamrar: Lori Isvik

Kelley: Christina Blum

Kensett: Lori McNally

Laurens: Jillian Krieg

Lawton: Patricia Washburn

Leon: Angela Blades

Lewis: Carrie Kirchhoff

Lisbon: Tawnia Kakacek

Marcus: Bev Alesch

Marengo: Ruth Barrich

Marion: Beth Little

Marshalltown: Shari L. Coughenour

McCausland: Paula McIntosh

Mediapolis: Julie Kibbey

Missouri Valley: Rita Miller

Monroe: Kim Thomas

Monticello: Sally Hinrichsen

Morning Sun: Holly Fletcher

Newell: Melinda Buchholz

Newhall: Trish Gleason

Panora: Joyce Calmer

Patterson: Doris Loy

Paullina: Sandy Fritz

Perry: Jeanette Peddicord

Pleasant Hill: Joni Haag

Polk City: Sharon Nickles

Redfield: Deb Light

Riceville: Crystal Kobliska

Sageville: Mary Habel

Sergeant Bluff: Paula Moriarty

Sheldon: Arlene Budden

Shellsburg: Nancy Deklotz

Slater: Mary Beth Chinery

Stout: Celane Hauser

Underwood: Kelly J. Groskurth

Union: Ann Bracy

Vincent: Michel Fransen

Wadena: Gloria Aylsworth

Walford: Janet Gann

Waverly: Jo-Ellen Rapp

West Des Moines: Fern Stewart

Williamsburg: Jenifer Mein

Wilton: Janet Boorn

Winfield: Jan Walter

Woodbine: Bob Sullivan and Lois Surber

Woodward: Christina Perking

Worthington: Mary Habel

Wyoming: Sheri Tjaden


Contacts :

Paul Coates, Community and Regional Planning, (515) 294-1844, paulc@iastate.edu

or municipal clerk listed at the end of this news release


Del Marks, Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu