Extension News

City Officials Attend Professional Training at Iowa State University

Note to media editors:

A list of participants, alphabetical by community name, is at the end of this story.



___(Name)___, ___(Town)___, recently completed the initial courses as part of a curriculum at the Iowa Municipal Professionals Institute that leads to professional certification at either the state level or through the International Institute of Municipal Clerks. The five-day Municipal Professionals Institute was conducted by Iowa State University Extension Office of State and Local Government Programs during the week of July 14-18 in Ames.


Paul Coates, ISU Extension state and local government specialist who directs the program, said training topics covered a variety of issues facing city clerks. The session focused on an overview of the municipal financial system, ethics, administrative law, understanding legal terms, records management, open public meetings law, basics of public personnel system and written communication.


The program is sponsored by the ISU Extension Office of State and Local Government Programs in conjunction with the Iowa Municipal Finance Officers Association. Instructors include ISU faculty, ISU Extension staff, state officials, accounting experts and city clerks who have completed the Institute. The Iowa program is in its 33rd year and remains among the largest of 44 similar programs offered in other states and Canadian provinces.


Participants in these courses will have the opportunity to attend next July to continue completing courses toward certification.




Participants in the training included the following:


Anita: Linday Jahde, city clerk

Asbury: Doug Hummel, deputy city clerk

Brighton: Tonia Crossett

Dakota City: Angelique Berry, city clerk/treasurer

Dallas Center: Cindy Riesselman, city clerk

Fort Dodge: Michelle Hefley

Gilbert: Susan Gens, city clerk

Gilbertville: Brenda Volker, deputy city clerk

Humboldt: Sierra Skow, administrative assistant

Laurel: Lynne Gummert, city clerk

Lehigh: Wanda Ganeff, city clerk

Liscomb: Kristi Schiebel, city clerk

Malvern: Shari Mueller, city clerk

Massena: Heather Schwartz, city clerk

McCallsburg: Sonia Dodd

McGregor: Tom Meyer, city clerk

Mitchelville: Ruth Norton

Moville: Mishelle Even

New Sharon: Diane Brand, city clerk

Ocheyedan: Lynette Tracy, city clerk

Oelwein: Barb Rigdon, deputy city clerk

Paton: Mary Peninger

Pocahontas: Robert Donahoo, city administrator

Richland: Chris Thomann

Rolfe: Angela Schneider, city clerk

Sanborn: Becki Hurtig, city clerk

Scranton: Melinda Hinners, city clerk

St. Charles: Craig Wetzel, city clerk

Strawberry Point: Deanna Dement, city administrator/clerk,  and Liz Jaster, deputy clerk

West Branch: Deb Fiderlein, city clerk

West Des Moines: Susan Mathews


Contacts :

Paul Coates, Community and Regional Planning, (515) 294-1844, paulc@iastate.edu

or municipal clerk listed at the end of this news release



Del Marks, Communications and External Relations, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu