Extension News

Linn County Community Tree Stewards Complete Course


AMES, Iowa -- Twenty-nine Linn County residents have recently completed the Iowa Community Tree Steward Program.

This educational program involves 24 hours of intensive community forestry instruction designed specifically for citizen volunteers, community forestry and park staff, tree care professionals, utility company representatives, and county conservation board staff.

Course instruction focuses on various aspects of community tree management including tree and shrub identification, basic tree biology, species selection, pest management, value assessment, tree planting, inventory techniques, program planning, funding, and implementation.

The Iowa Community Tree Steward Program is sponsored by Iowa State University Extension, ISU Forestry Extension, the Forestry Division of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, the Iowa Community and Urban Forestry Council and Trees Forever.

To date, 703 people have graduated from this program since it started in 1992, and nearly 25,000 public service hours have been contributed. For more information, contact Tivon Feeley, Extension Forester, Iowa State University, 339 Science II, Ames, IA 50011, phone (515) 294-6739 or e-mail cfeeley@iastate.edu .

The following individuals have completed the course:

Michael Anderson, Cedar Rapids
Martin and Sandra Augustine, Robins
Margaret Birmingham, Marion
Karen Book, Marion
Wilfred and Katherine Carew, Cedar Rapids
Thea Cole, Mount Vernon
Mike Duggan, Cedar Rapids
Pat Ervin, Marion
Terry Jackson, Cedar Rapids
Gloria Johnson, Cedar Rapids
Betty Johnston, Cedar Rapids
Lori lane Klopfenstein, Cedar Rapids
Jackie MacLaren, Cedar Rapids
Sunshine McDonald, Cedar Rapids
Karla McGrail, Cedar Rapids
Jon and Jay McWhinney, Marion
Karmin Mullins, Center Point
Fran Potratz, Marion
Martha Rasmussen, Alburnett
Paula Schulte, Cedar Rapids
Carol Sears, Cedar Rapids
Gary and Judy Stevens, Cedar Rapids
Susie Stutterheim, Marion
Kevin Weiss, Cedar Rapids
Cathy Wyatt, Cedar Rapids

Contacts :

Tivon Feeley, Extension Forestry, (515) 294-6739, cfeeley@iastate.edu

Jean McGuire, Extension Communications and Marketing, (515) 294-7033, jmcguire@iastate.edu