Extension News

____(Name)____ Finishes City Clerk Professional Training


___(Name)___, ___(Town)___, has completed the final courses at the Iowa Municipal Clerks Institute that lead to professional certification at either the state level and/or through the International Institute of Municipal Clerks. The five-day Municipal Clerks Institute was conducted by Iowa State University Extension during the week of July 16-20 in Ames.

The participants were introduced to the basics of a personnel system, understanding municipal law and records management, according to Paul Coates, ISU Extension political scientist who directs the program. Part of the session was devoted to verbal communication techniques and a public speaking exercise.

The program is sponsored by the ISU Extension Office of State and Local Government Programs in conjunction with the Iowa Municipal Finance Officers Association. Instructors include ISU faculty, extension staff, bonding attorneys, accounting experts and city clerks who have completed the Institute. The Iowa State University program is in its 32nd year and remains one of the largest of 44 similar programs offered in other states and Canadian provinces.

This year’s courses were the final part of those needed for certification offered by ISU Extension to all city clerks and finance officers. Many Iowa municipalities require participation in the program as a condition of employment for newly-hired clerks. The program also provides educational credit toward certification by the International Institute of Municipal Clerks headquartered in California. Participants who have completed the program are invited back each year to participate in continuing education on a variety of special topics.


Participants in the July training included the following:

Ackley: Cyndee Roskens
Alburnett: Amber Franklin
Bloomfield: Carol Taylor
Brandon: Michelle Nejdl
Brooklyn: Lorraine Willett
Bussey: Rachel Reed
Centerville: Kris May
Coralville: Kay Scheetz
Dallas Center: Cindy Riesselman
Denison: Jodie Hast
Earlham: Kathy Timmerman
Fort Dodge: Dawn Siebken
Gilmore City: Virginia Wright
Grinnell: Ann Wingerter
Humboldt: Andrea Vinsand
Humeston: Stacy Stephens
Jesup: LeAnn M. Nichols
Leon: Angela Blades
Maxwell: Melissa Johannes
Monona: Steven Diers
Moville: Jackie Stender
Newhall: Trish L. Gleason
Norwalk: Jodi Powers
Otho: Glenda Rasmussen
Oxford Junction: Shannon Petersen
Palo: Trisca Smetzer
Polk City: Sharon Nickles
Pomeroy: Julia Pettit
Riverton: Carol Jennings
Ryan: Natalie Russ
Sergeant Bluff: Sandi Headid
Sheldon: Pat Meester
Sloan: Tracy Mertz
Springville: Sheila Ainesworth
Stout: Celane Hauser
Sumner: Lisa Oberbroeckling
Vincent: Michel Fransen
Waukee: Becky Schuett
Waverly: Carla Guyer
Wayland: Beverly Conrad
Wellman: Chris Huston
Woodbine: Lori Surber

Contacts :
Paul Coates, Community and Regional Planning, (515) 294-1844, paulc@iastate.edu
Del Marks, Continuing Education and Communication Services, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu