Extension News

ISU Extension Offers 2006 Ag Chemical Dealer Updates

10/31/2006

AMES, Iowa -- Updates on the latest crop production products and recommendations are the featured topics of the 2006 Ag Chemical Dealer Updates. Sponsored by Iowa State University Extension, this series will be held Nov. 21 to Dec. 19 at nine locations around Iowa.

 

“These meetings are a chance for ag input dealers to meet with Extension specialists to review current research, discuss new products, and learn of new recommendations,” said Brent Pringnitz, coordinator, Agribusiness Education Program.

 

Each location will feature presentations on weed, insect and crop disease management as well as soil nutrient management. Each meeting is approved for Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) credits. In addition, the meetings offer recertification for Iowa Commercial Pesticide Applicators in categories 1A, 1B, 1C and 10.

 

For more information about a particular program, contact the host(s) listed below. Registration materials and additional information about the meetings is available at www.aep.iastate.edu.

 

 

Nov. 21       

Iowa City               

Jim Fawcett   

(319) 337-2145             

fawcett@iastate.edu

AND

Virgil Schmitt

(563) 263-5701

vschmitt@iastate.edu

 

Dec. 4

Waterloo

George Cummins

(641) 228-1453

gcumns@iastate.edu

 

Dec 4

Calmar

Brian Lang

(563) 382-2949

bjlang@iastate.edu

 

Dec. 6

Ames

John Holmes

(515) 961-6237

jdholmes@iastate.edu

 

Dec. 7

Mason City

George Cummins

(641) 228-1453

gcumns@iastate.edu

 

Dec. 8

Spencer

Joel DeJong

(712) 546-7835

jldejong@iastate.edu

AND

Paul Kassel

(712) 262-2264

kassel@iastate.edu

 

Dec. 18

Lewis

Kyle Jensen

(712) 769-2600

jensenkg@iastate.edu

 

Dec 18

Denison

Mark Licht

(712) 792-2364

lichtma@iastate.edu

 

Dec. 19

Osceola

John Kennicker

(641) 743-8412

jkenn@iastate.edu

AND

Mark Carlton

(641) 932-5612

mcarltn@iastate.edu

AND

Mike White

(515) 961-6237

mlwhite@iastate.edu

--30--

Contacts :

Brent Pringnitz, Agri-Business Education Program, (515) 294-9487, bpring@iastate.edu

Jean McGuire,  Extension Communications and Marketing, (515) 294-7033, jmcguire@iastate.edu