Extension News

Election Administrators Receive Training in State Voting Rules


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa -- Administrative rules that will govern how Iowans vote in the state’s elections was the primary subject at a workshop conducted by Iowa State University Extension and sponsored by the Iowa State Association of County Auditors (ISACA) and the Secretary of State’s Office on April 19 in Marshalltown.

About 185 election officials across the state participated in the program, which was a continuing education session for the Iowa State Election Administrators Training (SEAT) certification program.

The SEAT program was developed in response to the federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA), and is part of a series of programs sponsored by ISACA and the Office of the Iowa Secretary of State and coordinated by ISU Extension. The April program focused on administrative rules guiding the implementation of new voting equipment that will be used for the first time in the June primary election.

The program is managed by Paul Coates, director of the Office of State and Local Government programs at ISU and Alan Vandehaar, area extension specialist located in Perry. Auditors and election staff from 96 of Iowa’s 99 counties participated in the SEAT program since its inception in 2002. This achievement places Iowa as a leader in election reform and training among all states in the United States.

 Participants in the Marshalltown program included (listed by county represented):

Appanoose: Linda Demry
Chickasaw: Judy Babcock
Clay: Margie Pitts
Clayton: Dennis Freitag
Crawford: Jackie Campbell and Cecilia Fineran
Delaware: Monica Heiserman
Dickinson: Nancy Reiman
Emmet: Bev Juhl
Hamilton: Sue Johnston, Lori Kloberdanz and Kim Schaa
Jefferson: Scott Reneker
Keokuk: Christy Bates and Lu Ann Lindner
Kossuth: Jayne Krieps and Joann Bormann
Lucas: Julie L. Masters
Mahaska: Kay Swanson
Monona: Benita J. Davis
Palo Alto: Gary Leonard and Carmen Moser
Van Buren: Jon P. Viney and Laurie Burgason
Wayne: Dixie Ahrenkiel and Sue Ruble
Woodbury: Pat Gill and Vicki Ritz


Contacts :

Paul Coates, Office of State and Local Government Programs, (515) 294-1844, paulc@iastate.edu

Del Marks, Extension Communication Services, (515) 294-9807, delmarks@iastate.edu