Extension Council Offers Candidates Opportunities to Educate and Serve

The Montgomery County extension council soon will begin the process to fill five seats on the council.  The elected council, like the hundreds of others across the country, is the grass roots governing body for the Cooperative Extension System. As part of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, the Montgomery County council works in partnership with local citizens, Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Agriculture to carry the land-grant mission beyond the campus in Ames. Candidates for the council will appear on the general election ballot in November.
 “The elected council is instrumental in fulfilling the land-grant mission and bringing research-based educational opportunities to the county. We invite those interested in Montgomery County’s extension and outreach programs, to be involved in the nomination process or consider running for council,” says Stephanie Langner, Program Coordinator.  The duties of a council member include hiring county staff, managing the county extension budget and helping select programming.
One hundred ISU Extension and Outreach field offices provide local access to extension programs in all 99 counties. “We are part of the ongoing life of Iowa’s communities and are positioned to anticipate trends, build relationships and catalyze opportunities,” says Langner.
Identifying Council Candidates
The nomination process begins with the appointment of a four-member nominating committee. By law, the current council appoints two men and two women to the committee and it cannot include any current members of the council. The committee must be appointed by Aug. 6, 2014.
The committee is charged with nominating candidates for the council, and geographic distribution of the nominees is one factor that they consider. After nominees have been selected, each nominee must turn in to the county elections commissioner Stephanie Burke a petition signed by at least 25 qualified voters by 5 p.m. on Aug. 27, 2014.
Individuals also may be placed on the ballot through a self-nomination process by turning in a petition signed by 25 qualified voters. Petitions are available from the county auditor and at the county extension office.
The nine-member council has five vacancies for four-year terms this year. Council members whose terms expire at the end of 2014 are Lori DeKay of Stanton, Carroll Freeman of Red Oak, Joe Jardon of Red Oak, Greta McCarthy of Red Oak, and Julie Wolfe of Red Oak.  All council members are eligible for re-election.
Newly-elected council members will take office in January 2015. Carry-over council members whose terms expire at the end of 2016 are Bill Drey of Red Oak, Tim Kammerer of Stanton, Karen Klocke of Villisca, and Mike Olson of Red Oak.
For more information on becoming a council member, contact Stephanie Langner at 623-2592.

Share |