Extension Council Elects Officers

The Montgomery County Extension Council elected four officers during the organizational meeting Jan. 20th. The nine-member council annually elects officers to comply with Iowa law.
Joseph Jardon of rural Red Oak is the re-elected chairperson.  This will be his second term as chair.  Joseph will preside at all meetings of the extension council, and will have authority to call special meetings and carry out duties performed and exercised by a chairperson of a board of directors of a corporation. Carroll Freeman of Red Oak was re-elected vice chairperson.
Karen Klocke of Villisca was elected secretary; and has the responsibility of keeping the minutes of all extension council meetings and signing required papers for the council.
The council re-elected Lori DeKay of Stanton to the treasurer position. The treasurer receives, deposits, has charge of all of the funds of the extension council, and pays and disburses funds. The treasurer ensures an accurate record of receipts and disbursements and submits reports to the extension council.
Additional extension council members are Julie Wolfe, Bill Drey, Greta McCarthy, Tim Kammerer, and Mike Olson.  Members are elected on a rotating basis for four year terms.
The council is the county governing body of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. The council hires county staff, manages the county extension budget of approximately $150,000, and helps determine programming.
In partnership with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, the council provides educational opportunities that bring university resources to the needs of the county and region. Local extension programs include 4-H, Master Gardeners, Annie’s Project, and Powerful Tools for Caregivers
The county extension office is located at 400 Bridge Street in Red Oak.  To learn more about ISU Extension and Outreach in Montgomery County, visit www.extension.iastate.edu/montgomeryor find them on Facebook!
PIctured above:  Mike Olson, Bill Drey, Joe Jardon, Karen Klocke, Julie Wolfe, and Carroll Freeman.  Not pictured:  Lori DeKay, Tim Kammerer, and Greta McCarthy

Share |