Staff

Sherry McGill


Region 5 Extension Education Director
mcgills@iastate.edu
712-276-2157

Management, Youth and Families & Leadership

Cheri Hardison


County Program Educator
chardi@iastate.edu
(712) 423-2175

Business and Industry, Finances & Home and Family

Nancy McGrain


County Youth Coordinator
nmcgrain@iastate.edu
(712) 423-2175

Kids and Teens/4-H

Keith Baker


Office/Program Assistant
kwbaker@iastate.edu
712-423-2175

Melissa Beermann


4-H Program Assistant
mbeerman@iastate.edu
712-423-2175

Kids and Teens/4-H

Kim Brantner


Family Life Program Specialist
brantner@iastate.edu
712-523-2137

Joel DeJong


Crop Program Specialist
jldejong@iastate.edu
712-546-7835

Soil Fertility, Insect and Weed Management, Alternative Tillage Methods, Integrated Crop Management, Pesticide Use and Safety, Manure as a Crop Nutrient, Weather-related Crop Problems, Sustainable Crop Production, Precision Agriculture

Dr. Beth Doran


Beef Field Specialist
doranb@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Primary leadership in Extension beef programming for feedlot, cow-calf, and agri-business clients. Secondary emphasis in horse and sheep programming.

Abigail Gaffey


Communities Field Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
712-276-2157

Planning & Zoning Training Workshops For Local Officials; Leadership Development; Organizational Planning & Development; Building Effective Teams and Conducting Effective Meetings; Facilitating Effective Town-Future Meetings; Iowa State Election

Jane Goeken


Community Development Specialist
jngoeken@iastate.edu
712-240-2504

Economic Development & eCommerce

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Field Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
(515) 993-4281/office; (515) 580-1561/cell

Works with commercial growers in an effort to expand Iowa’s fruit and vegetable production from mostly fresh market sales into the wholesale industry.

Julie Hlas


External Relations Field Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
712-389-0129 (cell)

Public Relations, Media Relations, Marketing, Digital Photography, Layout and Design and External Communications.

Kris Kohl


Agricultural Engineering Field Specialist
kkohl1@iastate.edu
712-732-5056

Livestock facilities, building materials and construction ventilation systems, manure management systems, soil erosion and crop residue management, soil and water conservation, ground water quality, well construction and maintenance, farm machinery, environmental regulations, energy conservation and farm safety.

Jan Monahan


Family Resource Management Program Specialist
janburk@iastate.edu
(712) 336-3488

Consumer Education, Money Management, Family Economics, Public Policy Education, Certified Credit Counselor, Family Financial Counseling

David Stender


Swine Field Specialist
dstender@iastate.edu
712-225-6196

Management of a swine operation, using records for management decisions, nutrition analysis for cost and performance, production flow planning, environmental issues, swine welfare, swine handling, value added niche pork production and using computer software for monitoring and making decisions.

Renee Sweers


Family Nutrition & Health Field Specialist
rsweers@iastate.edu
712-276-2157

Nutrition throughout the life-cycle, Nutrition, Health and Prevention of chronic disease, Women, Infant and Children's health issues, Food Safety and Quality, Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) and Family Nutrition Program (FNP) in selected counties

Brenda Welch


Region 5 Youth Program Specialist
bwelch@iastate.edu
712-546-7835

4-H Youth & Development

Share |