Staff

Bryan Whaley


Region 2 - Regional Extension Educational Director
bwhaley@iastate.edu
515-341-6967

Faye Schluter


Adult Education Director
fayes@iastate.edu
515-295-2469

Nancy Clark


Nutrition & Health Field Specialist
nanclark@iastate.edu
(515) 341-0261

Food Safety, Nutrition Throughout the Lifecycle, Consumer Food Management, Women's Health Issues, Nutrition and the Teen Athlete, Sun Exposure and Cancer Risk, Dining with Diabetes

Lisa Berkland


Youth Field Specialist
lisaberk@iastate.edu
(712) 837-5596

4-H community clubs, leadership development, character building, and enhancement of teamwork in youth and adult volunteers

Russ Euken


Field Specialist - Livestock
reuken@iastate.edu
641-923-2856

Production information related to nutrition, facilities, health, records, and budgeting for swine beef, sheep and dairy producers. Computer applications for livestock production. Individual consultation on improving productivity in livestock operations. Environmentally sound livestock production methods

Mackenzie Johnson

Mackenzie Johnson


Human Science Specialist - Family Life
johnson7@iastate.edu
712-240-0471

MacKenzie provides research-based information and education to people across the lifespan, helping them make decisions to improve and transform their lives. Mackenzie can speak on Adult Education, Parenting, Human Development, Aging, Early Childhood Education, Overindulgence, Ambiguous Loss, Literacy, Stress Management, PROSPER and Family Caregiving.

Paul Kassel


Crops Field Specialist
kassel@iastate.edu
(712) 262-2264

Crop Production and Protection including - Soils, soil management and soil survey - Soil fertility and fertilizer use - Weed, insect, disease, and nematode management - Tillage methods - Crop management database - Crop management - Forage management

Kris Kohl


Ag Engineer Field Specialist
kkohl1@iastate.edu
(712) 732-5056

Livestock facilities, building materials and construction ventilation systems, manure management systems, soil erosion and crop residue management, soil and water conservation, ground water quality, well construction and maintenance, farm machinery, environmental regulations, energy conservation and farm safety.

Kelvin Leibold


Farm Management Program Specialist
kleibold@iastate.edu
641-648-4850

Farm management, Farmland and Building leasing, Global agriculture, Land values, Farm Machinery management, Estate planning, Intergenerational transfer and Beginning Farmers

Brenda Schmitt


Human Science Specialist- Family Finance
schmitt@iastate.edu
(641) 512-0650

Julie Hlas


Organizational Advancement
hlas@iastate.edu
712-389-0129

Writing, Digital Photography, Marketing

Brenda Martin


CIRAS Account Manager
bkmartin@iastate.edu
515-570-5282

Expertise in gap analysis, long term planning, management of people, consumer response programs, line expansions involving technology transfer, supplier validation, and product stability protocols. Qualifications include extensive background in regulatory compliance with the USDA and FDA, EPA, DNR and OSHA and implementation of Laboratory Hygiene Plans, BSE Programs, Good Manufacturing Practices and Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points.

Share |