Staff

Katie Peterson


Youth Specialist
katiejp@iastate.edu
563-583-6496

Amber Matthiesen


Jackson County Families & 4-H Youth Program Development Specialist
amber@iastate.edu
(563)652-4923

Youth, 4-H, and Families

Jeannett Kruse


Office Manager
jlkruse@iastate.edu
(563)652-4923

Carolyn Clark


Youth Program Assistant
clark05@iastate.edu
563-652-4923

Sarah Kinrade


Americorps Member
skinrade@iastate.edu
563-652-4923

Bailey Miller


Americorps Member
baileym@iastate.edu
563-652-4923

Greg Brenneman


Field Specialists - Agricultural Engineering
gregb@iastate.edu
(319)337-2145

Livestock facilities including manure handling, ventilation and layout, farmstead layout, farm buildings, energy conservation, drainage, soil conservation practices, conservation tillage, no-till, ground water and surface water quality, private water supplies, water treatment, private wastewater treatment systems, grain drying and storage.

James Jensen


Field Specialists - Farm Management
jensenjh@iastate.edu
(319)385-8126

Business Planning, Decision Tools, Risk Management, Value Added Alternatives, Farm Leasing

Paul Mariman


Regional Extension Education Director
pmariman@iastate.edu
563-583-6496

Coordinates programs and partnerships in Region 11 (Delaware, Dubuque and Jackson counties)

 

Patrick O'Malley


Field Specialists - Commercial Horticulture
omall@iastate.edu
(319)337-2145

commercial fruits and vegetables. Secondary areas of expertise: ornamental horticulture including greenhouse and nursery crops, and turfgrass

Virgil Schmitt


Field Specialist
vschmitt@iastate.edu
(563)263-5701

Production of corn, soybeans, small grains, and forages and the management of diseases, insects, and weeds that affect these crops

Denise Schwab


Beef Field Specialist
dschwab@iastate.edu
319-721-9624

Production information related to nutrition, facilities, health, records analysis, and pasture and forage management for beef and sheep producers. Individual consultation on improving productivity in livestock operations.

Vera Stokes


Family Nutrition and Health Program Specialist
vstokes@iastate.edu
(563) 359-7577

Mark Storlie


Swine Field Specialist
mstorlie@iastate.edu
563-425-3331

Swine production management – production pig flow, breeding and farrowing schedules, principles and application of PQA; initiating and utilizing production and financial records for management – marketing, cost control; analysis of nutritional feeding programs; alternative housing options – hoop buildings; mortality composting; contracting considerations – production & marketing; development & communication with employees – production handbooks; development of computer templates for management control or awareness; support of value-added production and marketing systems – organic, sustainable production, direct marketing.

Susan Taylor


Family Finance Specialist
taylorse@iastate.edu
(563) 583-6496

Financial Management for individuals and families including spending plans, budgeting for your needs, consumer decision-making, dealing with credit and debt, and planning for your future - savings, insurance, and retirement.

Family LIfe - Parenting Education, Stress Management, Adult and Child Development, Aging, Family Communications

Larry Tranel


Dairy Field Specialist
tranel@iastate.edu
563-583-6496

Production, nutrition and farm management education in dairy and beef; Dairy milk quality and mastitis prevention; Trouble shooting livestock problems; New and Remodeled freestall/parlor and other livestock facility planning; Utilization of forages; Management intensive grazing; and farm family labor/personnel management.

Share |