Staff

Lori K. Mannel


County Extension Director
lmannel@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Agriculture and Natural Resources, Community Economic Development

Laura Ballard


Office Manager
lballard@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Office Support, Reception, Bookkeeping Coordination

Kayla Hyett


County Youth and 4-H Coordinator
khyett@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Youth and 4-H

Janice Harbaugh


Mentoring Program Coordinator
jmharb@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

KIDS with a Connection Mentoring Program

Sue Richardson


County Families Coordinator
srichard@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Families and Human Sciences

Terry Torneten


Regional Extension Education Director
ttorn@iastate.edu
(712) 792-2364

David Brown


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
dnbrown@iastate.edu
515 298 1505

Provides leadership, delivery and support for porgrams such as Strengthenign Families, Powerful Tools for Caregivers, and training programs for child care providers and new child care center directors. 

Chris Clark


Beef Field Specialist
caclark@iastate.edu
OFFICE 712-769-2650 / CELL 712-250-0070

Beef Production Management

Carol Ehlers


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
xehlers@iastate.edu
(712) 732-5056

Financial Management for individuals and families including spending plans, budgeting for your needs, consumer decision-making, dealing with credit and debt, and planning for your future - savings, insurance, and retirement.

Shane Ellis


Farm Management Specialist
shanee@iastate.edu
712-792-2364

Ross Euken


Interim Swine Field Specialist
reuken@iastate.edu
(641)923-2856

Abbie Gaffey


Community Development Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
712-539-1169

Leadership development and organization development

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Field Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
515-993-4281

Commercial fruit and vegetable production including small fruits, tree fruits, and vegetables, soil fertility, irrigation, and high tunnel production.

Alan D. Jensen


Community Developement and State Geospatial Technology Program Coordinator
adjensen@iastate.edu
(515) 290-2075,

Geographic information systems, conservation, small town and rural planning

Mark Johnson


Field Agronomist
markjohn@iastate.edu
515-979-9578

Educational programs for agronomic resource management with emphasis in: conservation and land use; manure nutrient management; soil and water quality; soil fertility; soil survey use; and crop production.

Katie Knobbe


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition and Wellness
knobbe@iastate.edu
712-263-4697

Earl McAlexander


Youth Program Specialist
earlmc@iastate.edu
(712) 792-2364

Youth Science and Technology Curriculums, Animal Science Activities/Materials, Life Skills Development, Youth Record Keeing and Recognition Models, Experiential Learning Process

Dan Morrical


Sheep Extension Specialist
morrical@mail.iastate.edu
515-294-2904

Sheep and meat goats, grazing systems, sheep production and management

Shawn Shouse


Agricultural Engineering Program Specialist
sshouse@iastate.edu
OFFICE 712-769-2650 / CELL 712-250-0135

Ventilation, manure management, DNR regulations, manure storage designs and handling systems, building layout and siting, feedlot runoff design, energy conservation and heating, grain drying systems and well water quality

Derek L. Thompson


CIRAS
thompson@iastate.edu
515-419-2163

Account Manager

Leo Timms


Dairy Program Specialist
ltimms@iastate.edu
515-294-4522

Alan Vandehaar


Community Development Specialist
alanv@iastate.edu
515-231-6513

Community Planning

Michael White


Viticulture Specialist
mlwhite@iastate.edu
515 961-6237

Agronomic Resource Management with emphasis in:  soils, soil fertility; waste nutrient use; crop production practices; forage selection and use; soil conservation; integrated crop management; pesticide safety and compliance training.

Share |