Staff

Michael E. Cooley


County Extension Coordinator
mcooley@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Agriculture and Natural Resources, Community Economic Development

Sarah Jo Reynolds


County Youth and 4-H Coordinator
sarahjo@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Youth and 4-H

Sue Richardson


County Families Coordinator
srichard@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Families and Human Sciences

Mary Tighe


Mentoring Program Coordinator
mtighe@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

KIDS with a Connection Mentoring Program

Camille Ellis


Family Financial Educator
camille@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

One-on-One Financial Planning

Laura Ballard


Office Assistant
lballard@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Office Support, Reception, Bookkeeping Coordination

Ruth Freeman


Family Finance Program Specialist
rofreema@iastate.edu
515-386-3611

Poverty Reduction, Community Capacity Building, Budgeting, Financial Management, Retirement Planning

Terry Torneten


Regional Extension Education Director
ttorn@iastate.edu
(712) 792-2364

Chris Clark


Beef Field Specialist
caclark@iastate.edu
712-769-2600

Beef Production Management

Shane Ellis


Farm Management Specialist
shanee@iastate.edu
712-792-2364

cattle and hog marketing; costs of production; price risk management

Abbie Gaffey


Community Development Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
712-539-1169

Leadership development and organization development

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Field Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
515-993-4281

Commercial fruit and vegetable production including small fruits, tree fruits, and vegetables, soil fertility, irrigation, and high tunnel production.

Alan D. Jensen


Community Developement and State Geospatial Technology Program Coordinator
adjensen@iastate.edu
(515) 290-2075,

Geographic information systems, conservation, small town and rural planning

Mark Johnson


Field Agronomist
markjohn@iastate.edu
515-979-9578

Educational programs for agronomic resource management with emphasis in: conservation and land use; manure nutrient management; soil and water quality; soil fertility; soil survey use; and crop production.

Lee H. Kilmer


Dairy Program Specialist
lhkilmer@iastate.edu
515-294-6021

Instruction Dr. Kilmer teaches nutrition and management; and guest lectures in various animal science and veterinary medicine courses, and milk production. Research Dr. Kilmer's areas of research are software development for management information systems on microcomputers and mainframes including the ISU dairy ration program, revisions to the Dairy Herd Improvement Association feed information program, and development of templates for electronic spreadsheets; and factors affecting dry matter intake and performance of lactating dairy cows during the periparturient period.

Earl McAlexander


Youth Program Specialist
earlmc@iastate.edu
(712) 792-2364

Youth Science and Technology Curriculums, Animal Science Activities/Materials, Life Skills Development, Youth Record Keeing and Recognition Models, Experiential Learning Process

Sandra McKinnon


Family Life Program Specialist
sandram@iastate.edu
712-366-7070

Provides research-based learning opportunities for professionals, community leaders,and volunteers. Builds partnerships by facilitating individual, organizations and communities to work together to address high priority needs. Provides leadership, delivery and support for porgrams like Strengthenign Families, Powerful Tools for Caregivers, and training programs for child care providers and new child care center directors.

Dan Morrical


Sheep Extension Specialist
morrical@mail.iastate.edu
515-294-2904

Sheep and meat goats Grazing systems sheep production and management

Frank Owens


Community Development Field Specialist
frowens@iastate.edu
515-235-4644

As a Community Development Field Specialist he is responsible for providing service to seventeen counties in central Iowa. Frank has a B. A. degree in Sociology from Amherst College in Amherst Massachusetts and a Master’s degree in Community and Regional Planning from Iowa State University. He has more than thirty years of planning experience in both the public and private sectors and has received several awards for his work and service in Iowa communities. He is currently a Community Development Extension Field Specialist and the Program Coordinator of ISU’s Des Moines Nonprofit Management Academy.

Shawn Shouse


Agricultural Engineering Program Specialist
sshouse@iastate.edu
712-769-2600

Ventilation, manure management, DNR regulations, manure storage designs and handling systems, building layout and siting, feedlot runoff design, energy conservation and heating, grain drying systems and well water quality

Matt Swantek


Swine Field Specialist
mswantek@iastate.edu
Cell phone: 712-371-2856

Swine

Derek L. Thompson


CIRAS
thompson@iastate.edu
515-419-2163

Account Manager

Holly Van Heel


Nutrition & Health Program Specialist
vanheel@iastate.edu
515-576-2119

Alan Vandehaar


Community Development Specialist
alanv@iastate.edu
515-231-6513

Community Planning

Michael White


Viticulture Specialist
mlwhite@iastate.edu
515 961-6237

Agronomic Resource Management with emphasis in:  soils, soil fertility; waste nutrient use; crop production practices; forage selection and use; soil conservation; integrated crop management; pesticide safety and compliance training.

Share |