Solbergs Inducted into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

David and Carol Solberg, of Ringsted, were inducted into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame on Sunday August 17th in a ceremony at the Iowa State Fair in the 4-H Exhibit building.  The Iowa 4-H Foundation sponsors the annual Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Iowa State Fair. Counties nominate volunteers, community leaders, and Extension staff members who have exemplified outstanding service and dedication to the 4-H youth program in their county. Only one individual or couple per county can be nominated each year. Inductees can be recognized posthumously.
The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was established in 2002 as 4-H celebrated 100 years of a program dedicated to teaching youth life skills.  During those 100 years, it became evident that one of the essential elements of the 4-H program was the caring adults who were committed to the program. 
Inductees into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame represent the many people in Iowa who have contributed countless hours to the 4-H program.  They work tirelessly to see that Iowa’s youth have a great learning experience in a safe and fun environment.  These adults have modeled volunteerism, community service, integrity, and leadership to Iowa’s youth.  Their legacy is the young people they have mentored who will in turn support the continuation of a 4-H program that builds Iowa’s leaders.
David and Carol Solberg have been lifelong volunteers for the Emmet County 4-H program.  As youth they both participated in the 4-H program.  Over their adult years, David and Carol have served as leaders of 4-H clubs, 4-H and Youth Committee members, chaperones for 4-H trips, and 4-H workshop & camp leaders. They both enjoyed the years that their now adult children were in 4-H, and all of the fun memories they have of their children participating in the county fair.  They also recall the fun and craziness of the week before the fair and all of the last minute preparation that the whole family pitched in to help with.  David is currently a Sheep Committee member, Premium Livestock Auction Committee member, Fair Board member, Extension Council member, and Emmet County Shooting Sport club leader.  Carol has been instrumental in beginning a new Emmet County 4-H “Cook This!” group, that was organized in 2014, and of which she serves as one of the co-leaders.  Most of all, David and Carol agree that the best part about all of their experiences with the 4-H program have been the great families that they have met over the years and the friendships that have developed.  They enjoy seeing these people and catching up each year at the county fair.  The Solbergs are always willing to lend a hand to help out with any 4-H activities or events and truly help to “make the best better” for Emmet County youth.  Congratulations to David and Carol for the many hours they have dedicated to 4-H and the many lives that they have touched along the way!
Past inductees into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame from Emmet County have included:
2013 – Holle Smith
2012 – Layne Anderson
2011 – David and Robin Enerson
2010 – Diane Nelsen
2009 – Ron and Sandy Kropf
2008 – Keith and Nancy Rosburg
2007 – Belva Henricksen
2006 – Rachel Holl
2005 – Earl (Bud) Neppl
2004 – Lawrence Thomsen
2003 – Bruce Chrestiansen
2002 – Colleen Enerson

Share |