Staff

Photo of Cheryl Heronemus

Cheryl Heronemus


Regional Extension Education Director
hero@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Serves as a liaison for institutional outreach between ISU Extension & Outreach and the County Extension Council. Provides leadership to the county council, staff and clientele. Ensures quality programs are delivered to meet identified needs of Iowans.

Photo of Karen Byers

Karen Byers


County Extension Director
ksbyers@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

Provides oversight for County Extension program delivery in 4 Signature Areas: Food & The Environment, Health & Well-Being, Economic Development, and K-12 Outreach.

Photo of Janet Neppl

Janet Neppl


Office Assistant
jneppl@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

Administrative assistance and general bookkeeping for all County Extension program areas. Coordinates all Continuing Instruction Courses (CIC's) for the County Extension Office.

Photo of Barb Utech

Barb Utech


Office Assistant/Part-Time
butech@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

Administrative assistance for the Extension Office on a seasonal/part-time basis. Emphasis on 4-H & Youth and county fair activities.

Photo of Jessica Sander

Jessica Sander


County Youth Coordinator
jasander@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

County 4-H Program coordination including workshops and activities for youth. Club support. Volunteer recruitment and development.

Betsy Harwood

Betsy Harwood


Ricochet Coordinator
bharwood@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

Ricochet Middle School Leadership program coordination with all three school districts in the county during the school year. Summer program assistance and delivery of youth STEM camps and activities.

Jan Monahan

Jan Monahan


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
jmonahan@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

Financial Management for individuals and families including spending plans, budgeting for your needs, consumer decision-making, dealing with credit and debt, and planning for your future - savings, insurance, and retirement.

Photo of Lori Hayungs

Lori Hayungs


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
lhayungs@iastate.edu
605-310-6318

Family life, parenting, and family development

Photo of Renee Sweers

Renee Sweers


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition & Health
rsweers@iastate.edu
712-276-2157

Nutrition throughout the life-cycle, Nutrition, Health and Prevention of chronic disease, Women, Infant and Children's Health Issues, Food Safety and Quality, Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) and Family Nutrition Program (FNP) in selected counties.

Dr. Beth Doran

Beth Doran


Beef Field Specialist
doranb@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

See Full Biography

Provides primary leadership for and conducts Extension education programming in the feedlot and cow-calf phases of agriculture. Secondary emphasis is directed toward sheep, dairy and horses.

Paul Kassel


Ag Crops Field Specialist
kassel@iastate.edu
712-262-2264

corn and soybean management; forage management; insect and crop disease management; soil fertility and fertilizer use; soils and soil survey; stored grain management.; tillage systems; weed

Photo of Melissa O'Rourke

Melissa O'Rourke


Farm Management Specialist
morourke@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

See Full Biography
Agricultural law, employment legal issues, land and related leasing issues, estate and succession planning. Annie’s Project for Farm Women

Dave Stender

Dave Stender


Swine Specialist
dstender@iastate.edu
(712) 225-6196

See Full Biography

Alternative swine; boar; hog; manure; niche pork; pig; piglet.; pork; pork production; pork quality; sow; spreadsheet; sustainable swine; swine; swine business analysis; swine computer software; swine feed; swine management; swine nutrition; swine records (including sow tracker; swine ventilation

Wade Weber


Youth Program Specialist
wadewebr@iastate.edu
712-262-2264

Educates young people in life skills, learning how to learn, communication, citizenship, leadership and decision making.

Julie Hlas

Julie Hlas


Advancement Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
(712) 389-0129

Marketing and communications

Jane Nolan Goeken


Communities Specialist
jngoeken@iastate.edu
712-262-2264

Community Development, economic development, eCommerce

Share |