Staff

Janet Smith


Regional Director
jansmith@iastate.edu
319-385-8126

Janet is presently serving as a Human Sciences Family Life Specialists for Iowa State Extension and Outreach and has held this position since 2012. From 2009 until 2012 she served as a Program Specialists in both 4-H and Youth Development and prior she served as the Iowa State Extension County Education Director from 1991-2009 for Henry County.  She began her career in 1987 as an ISU Extension 4-H and Youth Leader in Lee and Henry County.  For nearly 30 years she has delivered research based educational programs which have impacted the lives of, youth, families, communities and businesses in Southeast Iowa.

Mary Steffener


County Youth Coordinator
steffene@iastate.edu
319.394.9433

Teresa Friedel


Office Assistant
tfriedel@iastate.edu
319.394.9433

Administrative & Support

Lisa McPherson


Program Assistant, Family Nutrition Program
lmcphers@iastate.edu
319.768.9867

Lisa teaches a set of lessons to eligible parents that includes how to plan meals, shop wisely and prepare nutritious and delicious food for families.

Rebecca Luers


Community Specialist
rluers@iastate.edu
319-759-9388

Provide educational programs, consultation, and technical assistance in the areas of  leadership development and community capacity building with a focus on community and youth engagement.

Morgan Hoenig

Morgan Hoenig


Local Foods Coordinator
mhoenig@iastate.edu
319-208-5396

Morgan has a passion for food and farming in Iowa. She owns and operates a six-acre organic vegetable farm in Mt. Pleasant, Mogo Farm LLC.She is an administrator for Green Share LLC, a collaboration of farmers who provide food for a Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) program and a number of restaurants in the Iowa City area. She was the Mt. Pleasant Farmers Market Manager for 7 years.

Patricia Steiner


Human Sciences Specialist, Nutrition and Wellness
psteiner@iastate.edu
319-394-9433

Nutrition and Wellness

Charles Brown


Farm Management Specialist
crbrown@iastate.edu
641-673-5841

Farm financial management, risk management, and the economics of farming.

Ryan Drollette


Farm Management Specialist
drollett@iastate.edu
319-337-2145

Farm Management, Dairy Economics, Livestock Economics, Marketing, Risk Management, Decision Tools, Farm Leasing

Patrick Wall


Beef Field Specialist
patwall@iastate.edu
641-842-2014

Livestock Beef

Greg Brenneman


Agricultural Engineer
gregb@iastate.edu
319-337-2145

agricultural engineering

Karen Lathrop


Advancement Specialist
klathrop@iastate.edu
319.930.9744

Advancement Specialist in Marketing, Public Relations and Organizational Advancement for ISU Extension & Outreach.

Tom Miller


Livestock Field Specialist - Swine
tmiller@iastate.edu
319-653-4811

swine

Patrick OMalley


Commerical Horticulture Program Specialist
omall@iastate.edu
319.337.2145

Fruit and Nut Trees as well as the Horticulture issues including vegetable gardens.

Virgil Schmitt


Crops Program Specialist
vschmitt@iastate.edu
563-263-5701

Crops

Mary Weinand


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Finance
mweinand@iastate.edu
319-385-8126

Financial Management, Horizons,Entrepreneurship,Budgeting, Credit, Credit Repair, Poverty

Share |