Extension Council Offers Candidates Opportunities to Educate and Serve

Crawford County Extension

The Crawford County extension council has started the process to fill five seats on the council.
The elected council, like the hundreds of others across the country, is the grass roots governing body for the Cooperative Extension System. As part of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, the Crawford County council works in partnership with local citizens, Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Agriculture to carry the land-grant mission beyond the campus in Ames. Candidates for the council will appear on the general election ballot in November.
“The elected council is instrumental in fulfilling the land-grant mission and bringing research-based educational opportunities to the county. We invite those interested in Crawford County’s extension and outreach programs, to be involved in the nomination process or consider running for council,” says Kelsey Hipnar, County Program Coordinator. The duties of a council member include hiring county staff, managing the county extension budget and helping select programming.
One hundred ISU Extension and Outreach field offices provide local access to extension programs in all 99 counties. “We are part of the ongoing life of Iowa’s communities and are positioned to anticipate trends, build relationships and catalyze opportunities,” says Hipnar.
Identifying Council Candidates
The four-member nomination committee is made up of: Randall Kuhlman, Beth Winquist, Tonya Eller, and Jim Sharp. By law, the current council appoints two men and two women to the committee and it cannot include any current members of the council.
The committee is charged with nominating candidates for the council, and geographic distribution of the nominees is one factor that they consider. After nominees have been selected, each nominee must turn in to the county elections commissioner Terri Martens a petition signed by at least 25 qualified voters by 5 p.m. on Aug. 27, 2014. Individuals also may be placed on the ballot through a self-nomination process by turning in a petition signed by 25 qualified voters. Petitions are available from the county auditor and at the county extension office.
The nine-member council has five vacancies for four-year terms this year. Council members whose terms expire at the end of 2014 are Alan Weiss of Schleswig, Dr. Doyle Slavik of Schleswig, James Miller of Vail, Shirleen Jepsen or Charter Oak, and one vacancy. All council members are eligible for re-election.
Newly-elected council members will take office in January 2015. Carry-over council members whose terms expire at the end of 2016 are Chris Thelen of Denison, Diane Arkfeld of Manning, Greg Gronau of Vail, Ken Kahl of Dow City.
For more information on becoming a council member, contact Randall Kuhlam at (712)269-5816.

Share |