Staff

Terry L. Janssen


Regional Extension Education Director
tjans@iastate.edu
(712) 662-7131
Mary Tuttle

Mary Tuttle


County Program Coordinator
mtuttle@iastate.edu
(712) 225-6196
Mary Dunn

Mary Dunn


Office Assistant
mdunn@iastate.edu
712-225-6196
Brenda Medick

Brenda Medick


County Youth Coordinator
medick@iastate.edu
(712) 225-6196
Dave Stender

David Stender


Swine Specialist
dstender@iastate.edu
(712) 225-6196

See full biography here.

Management of a swine operation, using records for management decisions, nutrition analysis for cost and performance, production flow planning, environmental issues, swine welfare, swine handling, value added niche pork production and using computer software for monitoring and making decisions.

Kris Kohl

Kris Kohl


Extension Agricultural Engineer
kkohl1@iastate.edu
(712) 732-5056

See full biography here

Livestock facilities, building materials and construction, ventilation systems, manure management systems, soil erosion and crop residue management, soil and water conservation, ground water quality, well construction and maintenance, farm machinery, environmental regulations, energy conservation and farm safety.

Melissa O'Rourke


Farm & Agribusiness Management Specialist
morourke@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230

See full biography here.

Agricultural law, employment legal issues, land and related leasing issues, estate and succession planning, Annie's Project for Farm Women

Joel DeJong

Joel DeJong


Extension Field Agronomist
jldejong@iastate.edu
(712) 546-7835

See full biography here.

Soil Fertility, Insect and Weed Management, Alternative Tillage Methods, Integrated Crop Management, Pesticide Use and Safety , Manure as a Crop Nutrient , Weather-related Crop Problems, Sustainable Crop Production, Precision Agriculture

Beth Doran

Beth Doran


Beef Program Specialist
doranb@iastate.edu
(712) 737-4230

See full biography here.

Primary leadership in extension beef programming for feedlot, cow-calf and agri-business clients. Secondary emphases in horse and sheep programming.

Carol Ehlers


Regional 4-H Youth Program Specialist
xehlers@iastate.edu
(712) 732-5056

Youth Development & Life Skills, Work-force Readiness, Environmental Stewardship, Science & Technology, and Volunteer Development; with access to research based experiential education youth development materials.

Abigail Gaffey


Community & Economic Development Program Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
(712) 539-1169

Planning and Zoning Training Workshops for Local Officials; Leadership Development; Organizational Planning and Development; Building Effective Teams and Conducting Effective Meetings; Iowa State Election

Jane Goeken


Community and Economic Development Program Specialist
jngoeken@iastate.edu
(712) 262-2264

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
(515) 993-4281

Responsible for providing commercial growers with educational resources and will conduct associated research at the Iowa State Horticulture Farm near Gilbert and the Armstrong Research Farm near Lewis. He also co-leads the ISU Extension value-added agriculture fruit and vegetable working group on statewide efforts.

Lori Hayungs


Family Life Program Specialist
lhayungs@iastate.edu
(605) 310-6318

Youth development, food and nutrition, family life, parenting, family development

Katie Knobbe

Katie Knobbe


Family Nutrition and Health Program Specialist
knobbe@iastate.edu
712-262-2264

Health, Nutrition, Food Safety

Cindy Gannon

Cindy Gannon


Marketing Coordinator
cgannon@iastate.edu
712-957-5045

Marketing and communications

Education:

Bemidji State University. Bachelor of Science, Business Marketing Communications

B.S., Career and Technical Education, Communications

Minnesota State University, Mankato. General education

Julie Hlas

Julie Hlas


Organizational Advancement Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
(712) 389-0129

Public Relations, Media Relations, Marketing, Digital Photography, Layout and Design and External Communications.

Share |