Staff

Terry Janssen

Terry Janssen


Region 6 Regional Extension Educational Director
tjans@iastate.edu
712-732-5056
Ellen Anderson

Ellen Anderson


Office Assistant
ellena@iastate.edu
712-732-5056
Nichol Kleespies

Nichol Kleespies


County Youth Education Coordinator
kleespie@iastate.edu
712-732-5056
Marisol Virgen-Axtell

Marisol Virgen - Axtell


Food Nutrition Program Assistant
maxtell@iastate.edu
712-732-5056

Teaching families about healthy eating and saving money on food. Working with families with young children. Bilingual in Spanish

Carol Ehlers


Regional 4-H Youth Program Specialist
xehlers@iastate.edu
712-732-5056

Youth development and life skills, work-force readiness, environmental stewardship, science and technology, and volunteer development; with access to research based experiential youth development materials.

Kris Kohl

Kris Kohl


Extension Agricultural Engineer
kkohl1@iastate.edu
(712)732-5056

Livestock facilities, building materials and construction ventilation systems, manure management systems, soil erosion and crop residue management, soil and water conservation, ground water quality, well construction and maintenance, farm machinery, environmental regulations, energy conservation and farm safety.

David N. Brown, Ph.D., LMFT

David N. Brown, Ph.D., LMFT


Human Sciences Specialist, Family Life
dnbrown@iastate.edu
515-386-2138

Education for professionals, community leaders,and volunteers. Strengthening Families, Powerful Tools for Caregivers, and training programs for child care providers and new child care center directors.

Beth Doran


Beef Program Specialist
doranb@iastate.edu
712-737-4230(office) 712-395-0280(Cell)

Provides Primary leadership for and conducts Extension education programming in the feedlot and cow-calf phases of agricutlure. Secondary emphasis is directed toward sheep, dairy and horses.

Paul Kassel

Paul Kassel


Extension Field Agronomist
kassel@iastate.edu
(712)262-2264

Crop production and protection including soils, soil management and soil survey. Also soil fertility and fertilizer use, weed, insect, disease, and nematode management, tillage methods, crop management database, crop management and forage management.

Katie Knobbe

Katie Knobbe


Health and Nutrition Specialist
knobbe@iastate.edu
712-263-4697

Food safety education, nutrition, foods and health.

Jan Monahan

Jan Monahan


Family Finance Program Specialist
jmonahan@iastate.edu
712-336-3488

Financial Management

Melissa R. O'Rourke

Melissa R. O’Rourke


Farm Management Field Specialist
morourke@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Financial analysis of farm/individual enterprises, strategic planning for farmers, value-added alternatives, farmland valuation and leasing, and environmental ag management.

Dave Stender

Dave Stender


Field Specialist/Swine
dstender@iastate.edu
712-225-6196

Management of swine operations, records management decisions, nutrition analysis for cost and performance, production flow planning, environmental issues, swine welfare, swine handling, value added niche pork production and using computer software for monitoring and making decisions.

Renee Sweers

Renee Sweers


Title: Nutrition & Health Program Specialist
rsweers@iastate.edu
(712) 276-2157

Nutrition throughout the life-cycle, Nutrition, Health and Prevention of chronic disease, Women, Infant and Children's health issues, Food Safety and Quality, Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) and Family Nutrition Program (FNP).

Abby Gaffey

Abbie Gaffey


CDR Field Specialist
agaffey@iastate.edu
515-294-6192

Leadership development, organization development, communities.

Jane Goeken

Jane Goeken


Community Development Specialist
jngoeken@iastate.edu
712-240-2504

Economic development and e-Commerce in communities.

Ryan Breuer

Ryan Breuer


Dairy Field Specialist
rmbreuer@iastate.edu
712-737-4230

Dairy veterinary medicine - food and large animals, transition cow health and calf health-care management.

Joe Hannan

Joe Hannan


Commercial Horticulture Field Specialist
jmhannan@iastate.edu
515-993-4281

Commercial fruit and vegetable production including small fruits, tree fruits, and vegetables; soil fertility; irrigation; and high tunnel production.

Lori Hayungs


Family Life Program Specialist
lhayungs@iastate.edu
712-360-1740

Family life, parenting, family development.

Julie Hlas

Julie Hlas


External Relations Specialist
hlas@iastate.edu
712-389-0129

Writing, digital photography, marketing.

Share |