Buchanan County

Call us if interested in having a Buchanan County Barn Quilt

Commercial Pesticide Applicators Recertification 2015

Buchanan County ISU Extension and Outreach provides educational opportunities for economic development, food and the environment, health and well-being, and K-12 youth outreach.

We meet local needs, so Buchanan County can be an even better place for the next generation.


Since we follow the Independence Schools delays and closings (due to road conditions only) the Buchanan County ISU Extension and Outreach Office will delay opening for the same amount of time, or close if they are closed.  Whenever possible, we will notify the TV stations about any interruption to our regular schedule as well.  Programming scheduled during those times will be re-scheduled.

Holiday Closings:

2015: Thursday & Friday, Nov. 26 & 27; and Thursday & Friday, Dec. 24 & 25.
2016: Friday, Jan. 1; Monday, Jan. 18; Monday, May 30; Monday, Jul. 4; Monday, Sep. 5; Thursday & Friday, Nov. 24 & 25; Friday, Dec. 23; Monday, Dec. 26.

County News

November 3, 2015
Learn about and create your own seasonal, fresh wreaths!
November 2, 2015
Prepare for Fair: Goat & Sheep Committee offers FREE clinic!
October 8, 2015
Kids and adults alike will love this event!
August 3, 2015
There are many ways you can help! You DO NOT need to be a 4-H parent!
December 10, 2014

The winter edition of Acreage Living  features articles including winter care for horses, planning a spring vegetable garden, home energy savings tips, estimating costs of pasture and hay production, starting a bird feeding program and more.

Featured "At Work for Iowa" article

Through nutrition education programs from ISU Extension and Outreach, Iowa families learn how to budget their food dollars, save time and money by planning meals, and make wise food choices to stay healthy.

Iowa State University Extension & Outreach News

November 20, 2015 01:55 PM

The Sheep Production Skill Development Workshop scheduled to be held on Saturday, Nov. 21, has been cancelled due to an expected snow...

Share |