Articles related to Livestock

Monday, August 19, 2013 - 09:35

A Sept. 10 field day near Gilmore City at the Drainage Research and Demonstration Project site will focus on agricultural practices that can reduce nutrients leaving the field for better water quality.

Thursday, August 15, 2013 - 09:41

Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship staff members will present information about the Iowa Nutrient Reduction Strategy during the Iowa Learning Farms webinar Wednesday, Aug. 21 at 11:30 a.m.

Wednesday, August 7, 2013 - 14:35

Visitors to this year's Iowa State Fair, Aug. 8-18, can discover more with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. Extension and Outreach can be found all across the fairgrounds during the annual event.

Monday, August 5, 2013 - 11:12

Iowa State University Extension and Outreach will host a feedlot field day at the Greg Galles feedlot near Marcus in northwest Iowa on Tuesday, Aug. 27, beginning at 1 p.m.

Friday, August 2, 2013 - 16:01

Aquatic plants, although necessary for the pond ecosystem, can become a nuisance in ponds throughout Iowa during the hot summer months. Excessive plant growth can be managed through a variety of methods of varying cost and effectiveness.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013 - 09:17

To meet continuing demand and the Aug. 31 deadline for advisor recertification under the newly revised Pork Quality Assurance Plus® program, Iowa Pork Industry Center at Iowa State University has added a session on Aug. 29 in Ames.

Tuesday, July 9, 2013 - 14:25

Iowa Learning Farms will host a field day and pasture walk at Triple C Farms near Leon on Wednesday, July 24. The event will begin at 6 p.m. and focus on pasture improvement.

Wednesday, July 3, 2013 - 13:43

Margaret Van Ginkel, coordinator for Iowa Concern hotline – a service made available through Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, recommends actions that help prevent stress from taking over your life. Most important is to talk out your problems.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 09:19

The Iowa State University Farm Energy project will air its annual Farm Energy Webinar on June 25, from 10-11 a.m.