Articles related to Environment

Monday, March 11, 2013 - 09:12

Iowa Learning Farms will host a field day, along with Practical Farmers of Iowa, on Friday, March 22, from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Black Hawk Marsh State Game Management Area, Lake View. The field day will focus on cover management. 

Thursday, March 7, 2013 - 13:41

A field day focusing on cover crops for row crop systems will be held Tuesday, March 19, from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Dustin Kaestner farm near Luzerne. The field day site is located at Kaestner Seeds, 7381 16th Ave., Luzerne. The event is free, open to the public and includes a complimentary lunch.

Thursday, February 28, 2013 - 09:07

A Biomass Crop Production Workshop will look at reasons for increased interest in biomass crops for energy in Iowa. The workshop will be held Tuesday, March 19, at the Johnson County Extension Office, Iowa City, Iowa.

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 - 13:42

Ongoing effects from the drought may hit closer to home with possible water shortages this year across the state. Iowans can prepare by finding simple ways to conserve water in their own homes.

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 - 09:22

Farmers will be able to check soil moisture levels around the state when Iowa State University’s Department of Agronomy upgrades weather stations at several research and demonstration farms.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 - 16:22

The Iowa Learning Farms’ Wednesday, Feb. 20, webinar will feature Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture director Mark Rasmussen. The webinar begins at 11:30 a.m., and all that is needed to participate is a computer with Internet access.

Friday, February 8, 2013 - 14:27

A workshop to train livestock producers and service providers on how to use the Revised Universal Soil Loss Equation 2 (RUSLE2) and the Iowa Phosphorus Index for use in nutrient management and manure management plans is planned for March 20 in Altoona, Iowa.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 - 08:38

Iowa State University Extension and Outreach will host meetings in Madrid on Feb. 28 and Dubuque on March 6 to address emerging opportunities related to stover harvesting for the biomass feedstock needs of local industries.

Thursday, January 24, 2013 - 17:02

A Wind and Solar Energy Conference will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 26 at the Sioux City Convention Center, from 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. The conference will address the growing interest in alternative energy sources that has raised many questions about wind and solar energy in northwest Iowa.