Articles related to Crops

Tuesday, August 5, 2014 - 12:42

Iowa Learning Farms will host a strip-tillage and cover crop field day on Tuesday, Aug. 19 at the Dean Stromer farm near Klemme from 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m., with topics including the use of strip-tillage and cover crops as conservation farming techniques.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 09:26

Farmers and crop advisers throughout the upper Midwest are encouraged to attend the Resilient Agriculture Conference Aug. 5-7, in person at Ames, Iowa, or online.

Wednesday, July 9, 2014 - 08:40

Angela Rieck-Hinz is the new extension field agronomist for north central Iowa. She brings expertise in crop production and protection to this position, which serves a nine-county area.

Tuesday, July 8, 2014 - 14:41

Iowa State University Extension and Outreach has created a new team and direction to advise farmers on corn and soybean production.

Monday, July 7, 2014 - 09:58

Labor is a key challenge for fruit and vegetable growers looking to meet increased demand, but sharing machinery is a possible solution. A new manual from  Iowa State University Extension and Outreach and the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture can help.

Friday, June 27, 2014 - 09:57

Iowa Learning Farms and the STRIPs research group will host a prairie strips installation field day at the farm of Gary Guthrie near Nevada from 5:30-7:30 p.m. on Thursday, July 10.

Friday, June 27, 2014 - 08:39

Organic agriculture specialist Kathleen Delate spent the spring 2014 semester in Italy seeking information to benefit Iowa farmers.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014 - 07:54

Iowa Learning Farms will host a "Benefits of Strip-Tillage" field day near Primghar on June 23. The event is free-of-charge and open to the public.

Friday, June 13, 2014 - 07:56

The annual spring field day for the Iowa State University Southeast Iowa Research Farm will be held  June 26 near Crawfordsville, beginning at 1 p.m.