Teams Announced for Iowa State Fair Culinary Challenge

AMES, Iowa – Twenty-five teams of Iowa teens will compete in the 2012 Cook This! 4-H Culinary Challenge at the Iowa State Fair Aug. 12-14.

Cook This! 4-H Culinary Challenge“We’re adding a few new twists to this competition. I’m very excited about the amount of interest we have had in this year’s challenge,” said Steph Ferguson, a special events coordinator with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach 4-H Youth Development.

Each team consists of three youth and at least one member must be in 4-H. The teams will compete in three age brackets. The junior level competition takes place Aug. 12, the intermediate level Aug. 13 and the senior level competition Aug. 14. All events will occur in the 4-H Exhibits Building.

Teams will demonstrate their knowledge of various kitchen items, from food to equipment, and show off their creativity in food preparation. The College of Human Sciences and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences will provide $500 Iowa State University scholarships to the members of the winning senior team. Sponsors for the challenge include the Iowa Beef Industry Council, the Iowa Pork Producers Association and the Iowa Turkey Federation. Dahl’s Foods is an in-kind sponsor providing all produce for the challenges.

2012 Cook This! Teams

Iowa youth who completed grades five through 12 were eligible to apply for the competition. The following teams have been selected to participate in Cook This! at the Iowa State fair.

Junior Teams (5th and 6th graders)

  • Sizzling Sisters: Zoe Runyon and Breeana Runyon, Henry County
  • Caitlyn Ballard, Emily Smith and Raquel Gonzalez, Dallas County
  • Anna Plathe, Jessica Kratz and Lauren Sobaski, Woodbury County
  • Mitchell Clark, Chase Pibal and Anna McChesney, Calhoun County
  • The Early Achievers, Sac County
  • Allison Devereaux, Jesse Coon and Vonnie Pratt, Pocahontas County
  • The Funky Chickens: Chloe Whitehead, Alyssa Sirdoreus and Rosemary Thompson, Marshall County
  • The Kitchen Kiddos: Lydia Denniston, Lizzy DeJong and Sydney Katko, Mahaska County
  • Jackson Polk, Matthew Beltran and Riley Flint, Franklin County
  • Jenna White, Keturah Sauke and Abby Castillo, Franklin County

Intermediate Teams (7th and 8th graders)

  • Madison Murphy, Matthew Murphy and Everett Wegge, Wayne and Winneshiek Counties
  • Kitchen Heat: Hannah McCoy, Leonora James and Lucas Henkelman, Warren County
  • Cookin’ CATs: Tanner Halleran, Collin Svenby and Audra Weber, Keokuk County
  • The Three Anaheims: Landra Reece, Matthew Kordick and Jonathon Hauglund, Boone County
  • The Baking Bunch: Ellen Sattler, Mariah Mann and Libby Hansen, Polk County
  • The Early Achievers, Sac County
  • Classy Cooks: Claire Sattler, Carlyn Mann and Mattea Miller, Polk County
  • Emma Sackville, Meg Chrisitiansen and Talynn Craig, Franklin County

Senior Teams (9th through 12th graders)

  • Hailey Frazier, Taylor Knowles and Tyler Schneidmiller, Pocahontas County
  • Gourmet Rednecks: Marcus Foltz, Dalton Rhum and Brianna Barnett, Decatur County
  • Raeanna Crile, Lorynn Whaley and Reed Mendenhall, Henry County
  • The Early Achievers, Sac County
  • David Runneals, Shelby VanSteenwyk and Marissa Kephart, Story County
  • The Grand Kids: Zacary Randau, Sandra Blom and Lexi Randau, Mahaska County
  • Kickin Kountry Kooks: Rachel Haugland, Kenton Reece and Rebecca Haugland, Johnson County