Iowa State University to Serve as Hub for Statewide STEM Efforts

DES MOINES, Iowa ― Iowa State University will serve as the north central hub for the new Governor's STEM Advisory Council. The goal of the six regional hubs is to promote science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education and economic development across Iowa.

Gov. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Reynolds and STEM Hub representatives Gov. Terry Branstad, Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds and University of Northern Iowa President Ben Allen announced the six regional hubs during a press conference at the Iowa Science Center in Des Moines on Monday, May 7. Ron Cox, assistant vice president for extension and outreach; Chuck Morris, director of ISU Extension and Outreach 4-H Youth Development; and Jay Staker, director of Extension Science Engineering and Technology Youth Initiative (E-SET), represented Iowa State at the press conference.

The application for Iowa State University was submitted by the Office of the Vice President for Extension and Outreach. Read the application to learn more about how Iowa State University will work as a hub and the connection to Extension and Outreach and 4-H Youth Development.

In addition to Iowa State University, Iowa Lakes Community College, University of Northern Iowa, Southwestern Community College, Drake University, and a partnership between the University of Iowa and Kirkwood Community College will serve as regional hubs.

Read the full news release on the Iowa Governor's STEM Advisory Council website at