Iowa 4-H Horse Jamboree Winners Move on to Competitions in Colorado and Ohio

AMES, Iowa - Almost 200 Iowa 4-H'ers competed in the thirteenth annual Iowa Youth Horse Jamboree March 24 and 25 at Iowa State University. A portion of the winners will represent Iowa 4-H at the Denver Horse Classic and Ohio Youth Congress this fall and winter.

According to Mike Anderson, 4-H youth development specialist, Horse Jamboree contests give youth an opportunity to demonstrate their equine knowledge and skills. There were record numbers of entries this year for the Horseless Horse project area including photos, drawings, paintings, crafts, woodworking, essays and poems, as well as two new categories this year, scrapbooking and digital storytelling.

Winners who will represent Iowa at the national event competitions include the top hippology and quiz bowl teams, along with the top individuals in both demonstration and public speaking.

The hippology contest showcases knowledge of and skill in equine science and husbandry. First place in senior hippology went to Rebecca Ness of Jasper County with 444 points (520 possible points). The team from Jasper County won first place in the senior hippology division with teammates Jarret Horn, Rebekah Ness and Alexandra Reynolds with a total of 1220 points (1610 possible points). Elizabeth Horn, Jasper County, placed first in junior hippology with 198 points (240 possible points). Horn and teammates Sara Ness, Alayna Reynolds and Claire Ringer won the junior hippology team competition with 550 points (720 possible points).

Quiz bowl contestants answer one-on-one, toss-up and bonus questions in a timed situation. First place in the senior division went to the Story County team of Katherine Hodge, Katlyn Kahler, Emily Knittel, Emily Miller and Sydney See. Junior division honors went to the Story County team including Caitlin Dewell, Nicole Dewell, Ashley Kahler, Benjamin Lee and Amanda McGowan. Senior and junior individual quiz bowl winners were Alexandra Korndorf, Scott County, and Alexa Stull, Benton County.

Other winners may be found at


Note: The first picture shows the senior hippology team. The second picture is of the senior quiz bowl team.


Mike Anderson, 4-H Youth Development, (515) 294-8617,

Peggy Miller-Auwerda, ISU Animal Science, (515) 294-5260,