2011-2012 Iowa 4-H Youth Council Members Announced

AMES, Iowa — Forty Iowa teens are beginning their terms as members of the Iowa 4-H Youth Council. They were inducted during the closing ceremonies of the 2011 Iowa 4-H Youth Conference June 30.

The young leaders will serve as 4-H ambassadors in their home counties and throughout the regions they represent in the state. They also will participate in various statewide functions.

“The state council is made up of an outstanding group of people from across the state,” said Brenda Allen, state 4-H youth development program specialist with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. “During three days of ambassador training, they practiced sharing their 4-H stories, learned about specifics in the state 4-H program and learned about one another. I am confident they are prepared to represent the Iowa 4-H program with enthusiasm and grace. It is a pleasure to work with such accomplished and motivated youth, and I’m looking forward to the year ahead.”

Other responsibilities of state council members include working at the Iowa State Fair, planning the Iowa 4-H Conference and serving with the Iowa 4-H Foundation.

“The state council gives youth an opportunity to develop important life skills,” said Chuck Morris, ISU Extension 4-H Youth Development program director. “Youth learn to become better leaders through planning and executing state and area educational events.”

Eight students are representing Regions 13, 14, 17, 18 and 19: Jenny Adrian, Marion County; Sarah Al-Mazroa, Madison County; Greg Beard, Lucas County; Renae Beard, Lucas County; Katriana Langholz, Madison County; Savannah Ruby, Adair County; Hannah Thayer, Polk County and Logan Wood, Fremont County.

These students will represent Regions 10, 15, 16 and 20: Sarah Brooks, Muscatine County; Sam DeBerg, Des Moines County; Kelsi Gensley, Iowa County; Rebecca Haugland, Johnson County; Ashley Holubar, Johnson County; Abby Sparks, Johnson County; Anna Tichy, Linn County; Jenna Walleser, Jones County and Haley Wellman, Lee County.

Six 4-H’ers are representing Regions 7 and 8: Carissa Brown, Boone County; Becky Cook, Hardin County; Abby Peterson, Webster County; Mica Redenius, Webster County; Jan Ryherd, Hamilton County and Katie Short, Hamilton County.

The following students are representing Regions 1, 5 and 6: Megan Haupert, O’Brien County; Lauren Houska, Sac County; Zack Lear, Clay County; Natalie Lord, Woodbury County; Mark Rippke, Woodbury County; Scott Schroeder, Plymouth County; Jordan Ukena, Calhoun County and Brice Wenell, Pocahontas County.

These students are representing Regions 2, 3 and 4: Virginia Bartenhagen, Fayette County; Evan Fritz, Worth County; Kayla Krull, Worth County; Amy Prestholt, Worth County; Ashley Smeby, Hancock County; Whitney Stahr, Fayette County; Kevin Tlach, Hancock County; Matt Tweeten, Worth County and Sydney Williams, Mitchell County.

4-H is a community of young people across America who are learning leadership, citizenship and life skills. In Iowa, the 4-H program is a part of ISU Extension and Outreach and headquartered on the Iowa State University campus in Ames. For more information about 4-H or how to get involved, contact any ISU Extension county office.



[PHOTO] Representing Regions 13, 14, 17, 18, and 19 -

Left to right: Logan Wood, Jenny Adrian, Katriana Langholz, Greg Beard, Chuck Morris-Director, Iowa 4-H Youth Development- Savannah Ruby, Sarah Al-Mazroa, Hannah Thayer, Renae Beard

[PHOTO] Representing Regions 10, 15, 16, 20 -

Left to right: Jenna Walleser, Sarah Brooks, Abby Sparks, Sam DeBerg, Chuck Morris-Director, Iowa 4-H Youth Development- Haley Wellman, Kelsi Gensley, Ashley Holubar, Anna Tichy

Not pictured:  Rebecca Haugland

[PHOTO] Representing Regions 7, 8 -

Left to right: Mica Redenius, Jan Ryherd, Chuck Morris-Director, Iowa 4-H Youth Development - Carissa Brown, Becky Cook, Katie Short

Not pictured:  Abby Peterson

[PHOTO] Representing Regions 1, 5, 6 -

Left to right: Megan Haupert, Mark Rippke, Chuck Morris-Director, Iowa 4-H Youth Development- Scott Schroeder, Brice Wenell, Jordan Ukena

Not pictured: Lauren Houska, Zack Lear and Natalie Lord

[PHOTO] Representing Regions 2, 3, 4 -

Left to right: Amy Prestholt, Matt Tweeten, Whitney Stahr, Evan Fritz, Chuck Morris-Director, Iowa 4-H Youth Development- Kevin Tlach, Kayla Krull, Sydney Williams, Ashley Smeby and Virginia Bartenhagen