Agriculture and Natural Resources News

Thursday, August 23, 2012 - 11:20

The Farm Progress Show is known for its extensive array of information and technology for today’s farmers. It is a natural fit for Iowa State University to be integrated into different...

Wednesday, August 22, 2012 - 14:29

Visitors at the North Grand Farmers' Market in Ames on Saturday, Aug. 25 will get to see the debut of the newest trailer in the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Conservation...

Tuesday, August 21, 2012 - 10:32

In response to the current drought situation facing Iowa pork producers, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach swine program specialists will host a webinar on Wednesday, Aug. 29, from 1 to...

Monday, August 20, 2012 - 07:10

The annual fall field day at the Iowa State University McNay Memorial Research Farm will be held on Sept. 6. The program begins at 4:30 p.m. with pasture and grazing topics.

Thursday, August 16, 2012 - 13:53

The Agricultural Marketing Resource Center provides producer groups with information for use in applying for the USDA Rural Business and Cooperative Service value-added producer grants, announced...

Thursday, August 16, 2012 - 10:11

Grapes grow well in a wide range of soil conditions but do best on well-drained soils. Horticulturists with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach answer questions about growing and...

Tuesday, August 14, 2012 - 07:23

Iowa Learning Farms, along with the Cedar River Coalition and Lime Creek Watershed Council, will host a field day on the Richard Sloan farm, near Brandon, Iowa, on Friday, Aug. 24, beginning at 10...

Friday, August 10, 2012 - 09:31

The Denison Community School "Denison DeKalb" team  received first place in the 2012 Crop Scouting competition held by Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. Students gained...

Thursday, August 9, 2012 - 12:22

Harvesting melons at the right stage of maturity results in high quality, nutritious products. Iowa State University Extension and Outreach horticulturists tell how to identify ripe melons.

Wednesday, August 8, 2012 - 09:27

Harvest is a prime time for agricultural fires, even when the weather has not been warm and dry. This year, the normal harvest dryness will be intensified because of the drought conditions and the...

Share |