Skip Navigation
Iowa State University Extension

Elected councils and ISU Extension set next partnership

an ISU Extension county council

Nine hundred elected county officials and ISU Extension: it’s not a partnership made in heaven, but rather by committed citizens, extension staff and hard work every three years. The partnership agreement between county extension councils and ISU Extension sets the stage for developing educational programs that meet local needs and outlines funding arrangements. A new committee will review the current agreement and recommend adjustments for the next one beginning in FY2009.

Members representing the Iowa Association of County Extension Councils (IACEC) are Pat Griffin, Greene County; Kathy Deibert, Marshall County; Jayne Lupkes, Worth County; Kathy Meyer, Butler County; Tom Ullrich, Woodbury County; Sue Boettcher, Dickinson County; Russell Collingwood, Iowa County; Tori Grantz, Clinton County; Alan Umbenhower, Lucas County; Gary Smith, Mills County.

Committee members include ISU Extension county education directors Dale Miller, Marion County; Al Ricks, Black Hawk; Rhonda Christensen, Buena Vista; Janet Smith, Henry; and Alan Ladd, Southwest Area ISU Extension education director. Mary Holz-Clause, interim associate vice president for ISU Extension and Outreach, will facilitate the committee along with Laurie Gustafson, director of budget and finance.

“Our objective is to maintain high quality staff and make high quality ISU Extension programs available to address the unique needs of each county,” Holz-Clause said. “I am excited to work with the committee to craft a partnership that addresses all of our issues and provides an environment for continuing excellence in ISU Extension programs.”

ISU Extension county councils are nine-member locally elected councils and lead ISU Extension educational programming in their counties. These local citizens want to ensure that the latest Iowa State University research is available for solving the relevant issues faced by local families, youth, communities, businesses and agriculture. These elected citizen leaders identify local needs and set educational strategies that promote and strengthen their communities.

This article appeared in April 2007 -- From Jack Payne Newsletter