Skip Navigation
Iowa State University Extension

Citizens Advisory Council experiences agri ‘culture’

adult and child picking fruit

Extension’s Citizens Advisory Council (CAC) met in June for an immersion in agri “culture.” They waded into ISU Extension’s programs in agri-tourism, local food systems, barn quilts, Elderhostel and Iowa’s burgeoning wine industry as they met with ISU Extension staff and administrators. The CAC’s 39 members are a key and consistent link between ISU Extension administration and Iowa citizens. Thirteen new members were introduced at the June meeting.

The new members’ terms expire in 2011: Jose Amaya, West Des Moines; Dean Borg, Mount Vernon; Willard Boyd, Iowa City; Sarah Huddleston, Storm Lake; Shea Kruger, Grafton; Deb Krull, Mason City; Carlos Rios, Des Moines; Gary Smith, Emerson; Mallory Smith, West Liberty; David Suarez Moreno, Mount Pleasant; Mary Weaver, Rippey; LaMetta Wynn, Clinton; and John Ziegenbusch, Ames.

“The CAC members are appointed by the Vice President for ISU Extension and Outreach,” said Mark Settle, director of ISU Extension Communications and External Relations. “The council meets twice a year and shares their perspectives and perceptions of ISU Extension. We’ve found their views of significant value.”

For the complete list of CAC members, see the Vice President for Extension and Outreach Web site.

This article appeared in July 2008 -- From Jack Payne Newsletter